1942 to 1991
After enjoying our slide-show below of some old photographs, read from our second published history. (A static copy of each photo is at the bottom of this page.)
The Second Fifty Years
Corstorphine Bowling Club
1941 – 1991
- The Village
- The Forties
- The Fifties
- The Sixties
- The Seventies
- The Eighties
- The Ladies Section
- The Senior Section
- Life Members
- The Early Nineties
- The Centenary Week
- Club – Office Bearers 1941-91
- Club – Competition Winners 1941-91
- Senior Section – Competition Results 1978-91
- Ladies Section – Office Bearers 1962-91
- Ladies Section – Competition Winners 1962-91
- Ladies Section – Honours
- Ladies Section – International Caps
- Appendix – Our Old Photographs
Click here to return to the top of this page
This history of Corstorphine Bowling Club covers the second fifty years from 1941 to1991 and is a follow‑up to the “First Fifty Years” history compiled by Alex Ferguson, who in 1941 was Vice‑President of the Club, and President the following year.
As was the case with the first history, the “Second Fifty Years” is largely based on the Minute Books for the period, supplemented by information willingly supplied by many of the Club’s older members.
Whereas the earlier history of the Club was dominated by the success of one outstanding bowler, Mr W.H. Scouller, no such pre‑eminent figure has emerged in later years. Nevertheless, the Club can claim a solid record of achievement at local, district and national level, producing a number of very fine bowlers, both male and female, as the records show.
In the preface to the “First Fifty Years” history, A.H. Hamilton, the then President of the SBA wrote that “the Corstorphine Club had progressed to being one of the most enthusiastic and prosperous of the many clubs in Edinburgh”. Fifty years on, there can be no reason to doubt that this is still the case and whilst the degree of prosperity may be somewhat relative, the measure of enthusiasm amongst Club members is undoubtedly of a very high order.
For a Club to survive and succeed its affairs must be managed properly and on the evidence of the Minute Books, Corstorphine has been well served by its office bearers. The minutes, faithfully and painstakingly prepared, are ample evidence of a high level of commitment by those who have given service as members of committee.
The names of all principal office bearers are included in this history and it is immediately apparent that continuity has been the keynote. Unfortunately, it is not possible to name everyone else who has served on committees or assisted in other capacities, they are too numerous to mention, but this in no way minimises the extent of the contribution made to the Club by these dedicated individuals over the years.
Male membership of the Club which stood at 110 in 1925 was increased to 120 in 1968 and there are now, in addition, thriving Ladies and Seniors sections. The fact that in the Club’s Centenary year the waiting time for new members is of the order of 10 years, is surely ample testimony to the success of the Club and the continuing popularity of this great game of bowls in the Corstorphine area.
Click here to return to the top of this page
At the turn of the century Corstorphine was still a village, surrounded by farmland and a few fine villas dotted around the slopes of Corstorphine Hill.
Between the two world wars, however, the Edinburgh Corporation Boundary was extended and Corstorphine became an Edinburgh suburb linked by rail and tram to the City. The railway line, terminating at Station road, lasted from 1902 until 1967 and the trams which started in 1923, were replaced by buses in 1967.
By 1941, some of the open farmland in the immediate vicinity of the village was being built on for housing and the centre of commercial activity had shifted from the old High Street to the upper village with St John’s Road as the main thoroughfare.
Fortunately, during the Second World War, Edinburgh was spared the blitz bombing which devastated so many other cities and the nearest Corstorphine came to aerial attack was when a German plane jettisoned its bomb load on the south side of Corstorphine Hill.
When the war ended in 1945 a new era began characterised by a rapid rise in all spheres of activity, housing, business, shopping, education and leisure. The grounds of Clermiston estate to the North, Broomhouse Farm to the South, and the lands of the Craigs and the Gyle to the West were encroached upon by urban sprawl, significantly changing the face of the village.
In the immediate post‑war period the shops were still mainly small family‑run businesses but nowadays, only a few remain which are still serving their original purpose. Amongst these are Boots Chemist, St John’s Road Post Office, Donnochies Bakery, Thomson’s Fish Shop and the Duchess. The rest have been replaced by multiples or the plethora of Banks, Building Societies, Estate Agents, Travel Agents and Charity Shops which dominate the modern scene.
The older hosteleries, the Corstorphine Inn, Harp Hotel, Oak Tavern, and the Maybury are still functioning as such but there are now in addition, three larger ones, The Post House, The Royal Scot and the Capital Hotels plus a number of new pubs and restaurants such as The Centurian, The Rainbow and Lightbodys.
Corstorphine has been fairly well off for leisure and recreational facilities for a long time with Corstorphine Hill, The Zoo, St Margaret’s Park, Union Park, Carrick Knowe Golf Course, The Tennis Club in Belgrave Road, and, of course, the Bowling Club.
There is the library too, little changed since it was built in 1936. The most significant later developments in this sphere have been the playing fields at the Gyle and the community access to a wide range of facilities in the new schools.
Perhaps Corstorphine’s most popular centre of attraction, however, came and went with the Astoria Cinema in Manse Road. The heyday of “the pictures” was during the 40’s and 50’s but the advent of television signalled the end and the Astoria closed its doors for the last time in 1974. The site is now occupied by a frozen‑foods store.
A good indicator of the extent to which Corstorphine has grown during the past fifty years is the increase in the numbers of schools in the district. The old Corstorphine Primary in the High Street and the thirties Stenhouse Primary and Carrickvale Secondary have been supplemented by new Primary Schools at Carrick Knowe, Broomhouse, Clermiston, Drumbrae, Fox Covert, Gylemuir and St Josephs, with new Secondary Schools at Forrester, St Augustines and Craigmount.
In modern Corstorphine there is now very little space left to the North, South, and East for future development and the land to the West towards the City Bypass and the Airport is rapidly being exploited.
The main arteries, now without rail and tram, are very congested with all forms of vehicular traffic and with little prospect of a solution to the problem in the immediate future.
Despite this, Corstorphine remains one of the best areas of the city in which to live with a good mixture of all those things which add up to a good quality of life.
Corstorphine undoubtedly flourishes and, if not quite the village of old, the community spirit is still alive and well amongst its “new” villagers.
Click here to return to the top of this page
CLUB AND CONSTITUTION, 1941-1949
Life in the Forties was, of course, over‑shadowed by the Second World War and in retrospect, it may seem strange to many people that club bowling was carried on throughout such a traumatic period in the nation’s history. The facts of the matter are, however, that all national sporting bodies were encouraged to carry on with their activities during wartime as best they could, in the hope that this would help the war effort by bolstering civilian morale. It would not be unreasonable to assume that bowling did play its part in this respect, offering a modicum of relief from wartime tensions.
The Club Minute Books for the period reflect a strangely unreal air of normality, concentrating as they do on bowls-related matters, but there are, nevertheless, occasional entries which give a reminder of the difficulties posed by the wartime background.
The records show that temporary memberships were established against four members who were serving with HM Forces from 1940‑45 and, happily, all returned safely. This contrasts with the First World War when five members of the Corstorphine Club did not return and their names are honoured on a commemorative plaque in the modern clubhouse.
References are made from time to time about rationing and travel restrictions which curtailed the Club’s activities and which placed an administrative burden on the committee. It was fortunate, therefore, that throughout these difficult years the posts of Secretary and Treasurer were filled by the same two individuals, R. Thomson and S.L. Griffiths, respectively.
Some appreciation of the special problems the committee and the membership were faced with can perhaps be gleaned from the following extracts from the minutes.
An entry dated March 17, 1941 states that “Owing to several members of the committee having Home Guard and Fire Watcher duties there was some difficulty in getting a quorum for meetings on Thursdays. After several members had expressed their opinion it was decided to fix meetings for Fridays meantime”. Another entry refers to “the difficulty of getting goods for prizes owing to rationing”.
In June 1944, an invitation from Kirkcaldy West End to send representatives to take part in a match celebrating the Club’s 50th Anniversary was declined. The reason given was that “Owing to Kirkcaldy being in a restricted area we had no alternative but to decline the invitation and the Secretary was instructed to reply accordingly”.
In similar vein a minute of April 1943 stated that, “The Secretary was instructed to write to the Broxburn Club and suggest that owing to difficulties with transport, this fixture should be abandoned whilst conditions remain as at present”.
Although it is something of a tradition in bowling circles to arrange matches and competitions specifically in aid of charity, the effort was stepped up during the war years and the amounts of money collected and numbers of charities benefiting increased considerably. The following charities received regular donations from the Club’s charity fund:‑ Red Cross; Newington House (War Blinded): British Sailors Society; Edinburgh Royal Infirmary; District Nursing Association; Widowers Children’s Home, Murrayfield; Church of Scotland Huts; Blood Transfusion Service.
In a wider context it was recorded on April 12, 1946 that, “The War Relief Fund organised by the SBA had closed with a total of £130,664.13.4d of which £8,785.14.4d had been credited to the Edinburgh and Leith Bowling Association”. A commendable effort.
Despite all these additional problems during the difficult years of the Forties, however, the Club was still able to look beyond day to day matters and consider its longer term commitments. Several fairly important matters received attention during the period.
The first of these arose at a committee meeting on March 28, 1941 when Alex Ferguson, the then Vice President, gave what was described as “a short but interesting resuméé” of the history of the Club. This was so well received that the President Mr D. Borthwick, sought and obtained the committee’s support for a full history of the first fifty years to be prepared and put into book form. Mr Ferguson undertook the task and in a later minute of March 27, 1942, it is reported that 500 copies had been produced by John Blackie, Featherhall Printing Works, Corstorphine, at a total cost of £27.
The copies were sold at 2/6d each, through the shops of Barrington (2 shops), Waddell and Cooke. The shops were allowed 6d on each sale. On October 28, 1942, Mr Ferguson, now President, reported to the committee that “enough books had been sold to cover the original cost and leave a profit of fully £5”. The meeting then, “expressed its pleasure at this excellent result and also their appreciation of the President’s work in the matter”. Present day Corstorphine bowlers would no doubt echo these sentiments in the knowledge that few other Clubs can have such an interesting record of their early days and of the efforts and accomplishments of their founding members.
The Club’s 50th Anniversary was covered by press articles in The Scotsman, Evening News and Evening Dispatch and the article from The Scotsman, dated 18.2.42 is reproduced below.
CORSTORPHINE BOWLING CLUB’S 50TH YEAR
Corstorphine Bowling Club was formed in 1891 and 1941 was therefore its fiftieth anniversary. No special celebrations were possible during the war, but a “Fifty Years History” has been published by the club to commemorate the occasion. MrA.H.Hamilton, S.S.C., for many years the secretary of the Scottish Bowling Association, has written a preface to the booklet, which has been prepared by Mr Alex. Ferguson, who is on the staff of the City Chamberlain, and who is probably familiar to many Edinburgh motorists who have the occasion to visit the motor taxation office in the High Street. Much of the history deals with the wonderful career of W.H.Scouller and it is especially interesting to read of the great reception he was given on his arrival back in Corstorphine after having accomplished the unparallelled feat of winning the Scottish championship for the second year in succession.
The club took its beginning, the history shows, as a result of Col.Pringle Taylor laying down a private bowling‑green in the grounds of Dunsmuir and giving the villagers the free use of it on two nights of the week. Copies of the booklet are on sale in Corstorphine shops, and they can also be obtained from the club secretary, Mr Robert Thomson, 33 Forrester Road, Corstorphine, price 2s 6d.
The second matter was a most important one and had far‑reaching implications for the Club. Unfortunately, despite the full backing of the membership, the proposals were not brought to fruition.
This matter was first raised at a Special General Meeting in the Public Hall Committee Room on September 23, 1942, attended by 43 members and presided over by the President, Alex Ferguson.
Mr Ferguson stated that the purpose of the meeting was to discuss extending the playing facilities so that the Club would be in a position to take advantage of circumstances immediately the war ended.
He developed the case as follows:‑
“The ordinary membership of the Club had been fixed in 1925 at 110, when there were a number of non‑playing members and as these members drop out, each new member was a playing member. This had already resulted in the full seven rinks having to be used on several occasions and this pressure would increase because a total of 110 playing members was more than one green could carry”.
“When the balloting‑out of members became a frequent occurrence the Club would be faced with the question of a reduction in membership and the natural sequel of a rise in the subscription”.
“Since 1925, there had always been a ‘Waiting List’ and with the addition of the Carrick Knowe houses, the position was steadily growing worse”.
“Even now, at the end of the season, the waiting list was 15, probably two years wait for half of them”.
The Chairman then turned to the question of the Clubhouse. He mentioned that there had been a big demand from the members for something in the way of recreation during the seven winter months, but owing to the limited room in the Pavilion, this was impossible. To extend it lengthways would more or less make it an animated corridor.
In conclusion the Chairman said that the committee, on looking at the subject from all angles, were of the opinion that ultimately Corstorphine could support easily a Club with two greens and maintain the necessary membership. Everybody wanted an enthusiastic and successful Corstorphine Club, but if a good bowler found he had four or five years to wait for membership, he would soon find a Club where a game could be got sooner.
The meeting was at this point thrown over for discussion after which the Chairman put forward the following motion:‑
“That, in view of the probable increased demand for bowling in Corstorphine after the war, the Club agrees to appoint a Special Sub‑Committee to explore all possible means of acquiring sufficient ground in Corstorphine to provide at least two full‑size bowling greens and adequate pavilion accommodation”.
The motion was supported unanimously.
The Club’s foresight and confidence in the future in the midst of a World War was quite remarkable and has to be commended. Unfortunately, the only other reference to the matter or the work of the Sub‑Committee is contained in a minute of September 17, 1943. This states that “Mr Borthwick gave a short resumé of how matters stood regarding extension of the green. He stated that he had called on the agents for the ground at Dunsmuir House, but they could not discuss anything definite until after the war”.
There the matter seems to have been laid to rest as there are no further references to expansion plans until the mid‑1950’s, when only an extension to the Clubhouse was put in hand.
It must be cause for regret that the original proposition was not followed through to a more satisfactory outcome but it would be wrong to conclude from the absence of recorded details that no further thought was given to the matter. It would be completely out of character for a Club, which had historically been forward looking, to overlook the need for further expansion, given that such an opportunity existed. One must assume, therefore, that bearing in mind the particular circumstances of the immediate post‑war period, the option, for one reason or another, was no longer available to the Club, and could not be pursued.
Yet another important decision was taken on August 20, 1945, and this one seems almost like a reflex action to celebrate the end of the war. The Club decided, at a Special General Meeting, to apply to the Directors of the Corstorphine Hall Company Limited, for their consent to an application for Club Registration, which would permit the sale of alcoholic beverages.
The main argument put forward in support of the move was that it would enable members to entertain visitors from other Clubs, on the premises, instead of having to go elsewhere. It was also stated that, “The fear of abuse should not enter the members’ minds as out of nine clubs on the fixture card, eight had the Licence and not one of them had abused it. Members would jealously guard their good names and standing”. A vote in favour was carried 54 to 7, but this was only the start of a long drawn‑out saga which was not satisfactorily concluded for another seven years.
A brief resume of the case during the Forties is that the initial application to the Public Hall Company was rejected out of hand, without any reason being given. The Club challenged this decision, but on August 15, 1946 received a letter from the Public Hall Company stating, “that no useful purpose would be served by giving reasons for turning down the Club’s request for registration”.
The Club did not accept this rebuff happily and later explored the possibility of purchasing the feu outright. Unfortunately, this also came to nought.
The matter lay dormant for some years and it was not until 1951 that a re‑application was made, this time successfully.
It would seem that in the interim there had been some relaxation in the general climate towards Club licensing, because on this occasion permission was granted within the year. The terms of the registration and the subsequent effect on the Club’s affairs will be covered in later chapters.
As a final comment on the Forties it is worth noting that the Annual Subscription in 1941 stood at £1 10/‑, compared with a figure close to £50 for the present. These amounts suggest that in relation to the average weekly wage appertaining at the time, the modern bowler is paying marginally less than his predecessors and is, of course, enjoying better facilities.
CLUBHOUSE AND GREEN, 1941-1949
In 1941 the Pavilion, or Clubhouse, as it is now known, was very much as it was when it first opened in 1907, and the Club made regular use of the adjacent Public Halls for meetings and hospitality to visiting clubs.
Several improvements had been made in the intervening years, of course, notably the provision of “the electric light” as minuted on August 24, 1939, but in the main only general maintenance work had been carried out. This state of affairs continued throughout the Forties and although there is no report on major alterations to the fabric of the building there are many references to minor matters requiring attention, ranging from roof repairs and repairing of doors and locks, even a broken chain on the lavatory cistern. Generally speaking, maintenance was good and the building was kept in a good state of repair.
One matter concerning the Clubhouse does perhaps merit special mention and it gives another yardstick to the kind of changes fifty years can bring. On May 9 1946, the Club decided to take out a comprehensive insurance policy, with cover as follows:‑
Clubhouse, Tool Shed and Contents 850
Bowls (£5 per pair) 300
Green (resulting from fire) 800
Furniture, Bowls, Tools 450
Silver, Cups and Trophies 100
Total Valuation £2,550
The total annual premium is quoted as £6‑5s‑9d.
Whereas the Clubhouse presented few problems this could not be said for the green, the condition of which required constant attention, despite having been re‑laid in 1940. No doubt the playing surface was much improved over earlier years, but the lack of a permanent greenkeeper during the early Forties seems to have prevented the Club getting the best out of the new green.
There was no lack of effort and attention from the Green Ranger, Mr R.F. Mollison, and by all accounts he did sterling work, often under the guidance of a Mr Brown from the Scottish Bowlers Greenkeepers’ Advisory Service.
Initially, complaints were being made by members about the level of the new green, culminating in a visit by a surveyor in July 1945 to check and record levels. In fact, the chart which was submitted to the Club “showed very slight differences in the level of the green”, much to the recorded satisfaction of the Committee.
During the mid and late Forties, a running battle was maintained in an attempt to combat the spread of Pearlwort, Yarrow and Moss. The treatments recorded include Super Phosphates, Calcined Sulphate of Iron, Sulphate of Ammonia and Moriate of Potash.
The 1948 season, being a very wet one, seemed to present special problems, following as it did the exceptionally dry summer of the previous year. A report from the Greenkeepers’ Advisory Service in September 1948 stated that the green had turned sour and in order to sweeten it the end of season top dressing of sand should include Fine Powdered Wood Charcoal and crushed Oyster Shell. This seemingly exotic treatment must have been effective because the Green Ranger was able to report a green in good condition for the start of the 1949 season. By this time, also, a green fund had been set up and a full time Greenkeeper had been appointed and the advantages of this for the green itself and the surrounds were beginning to become apparent.
Natural hazards on the playing surface of the green were not the only problem, however, and at fairly regular intervals members were taken to task for bumping their bowls. A less savoury aspect was the need for the Committee to put up a notice asking members to refrain from spitting on the green.
This seems to have had the desired effect, however, because at a meeting on March 8, 1949, it was agreed that the notice could be taken down with the proviso that “strong action be taken with defaulters, even to expulsion from the Club if necessary”.
MATCHES AND COMPETITIONS, 1941‑49
Prior to 1941 detailed records of matches and competitions were not maintained but fortunately from that year onwards the information is available as part of the Secretary’s annual report.
Regular matches were held with eight other Clubs. Six were members of the E & LBA; Hillside, Queensberry, Coltbridge, Slateford, Blackhall, Gorgie Mills. The two others being Broxburn and Kirkcaldy West End. For most of these matches first and second XVIs took to the green.
In all, 63 inter‑club matches were played between 1941 and 1949 and of these, the Corstorphine 1st XVIs won 37, lost 25, with one tied match.
Only three clubs had the edge over Corstorphine: they were Coltbridge and Slateford, each by the slight margin of 5 wins to 4; and Broxburn by 4 to 3.
Very few other matches were played during the war, but from 1946 onwards the Club stepped up its programme of “friendlies”. Among these were, notably, St Margarets and Selkirk, which remain annual fixtures to this day. Of the twenty friendly matches played, Corstorphine managed to win fifteen.
One of the other matches does deserve special mention, however, that with the touring club, Belmont from Belfast. The match took place on July 12, 1949, and is described in the Annual Report as “one of the most pleasant and highly successful days in the annals of the Club”.
In fact so successful was the visit deemed to be that the events of the day were recorded in full by Secretary R Thomson and it would not be amiss to report them, reflecting as they do the spirit of the times and the camaraderie of the bowling fraternity.
The “Day” started with the President, Mr J.Thomson accompanied by Mr J.Waddell (who was deputising for the secretary) being entertained to Luncheon by the Tourists in their Hotel. Mr Thomson and Mr Waddell were well received and spent a pleasant afternoon with the members of the Belmont Club, and left the Hotel with them by bus to the Corstorphine Green, where they arrived at 5 o’clock. The Tourist Party consisting of 24 Players, 4 Reserves and 18 Ladies were received at the green by Mrs J.Thomson, the President’s wife and Members of the Ladies Committee, on duty for the occasion. Thereafter the President addressed our Guests and extended to them a very warm welcome. After exchanging Club Badges the game began, and was played throughout in that happy cheerful spirit that is always loved so much by all Bowlers.
During the game the lady visitors were entertained to a most beautiful tea which had been provided by the wives of some of the Corstorphine Members. Mrs Thomson then accompanied the lady visitors to inspect the Tapestries of the Corstorphine Tapestry Company at Dovecot Road. There they spent a most enjoyable hour under the guidance of Mr Gordon ‑ one of the “Heads” of that Firm. Mr Gordon also gave them a demonstration of how tapestries were hand‑woven.
While the ladies were visiting the Dovecot Studios, the Bowlers on the Green were being given tea by the Ladies Committee and all agreed that the Ladies were grand bakers and the “Home Baked Goodies” were most appreciably received and enjoyed. The game then proceeded to a very successful ending and although the Home Team won, they all felt that the winning of the Match was a very small detail, and that what counted most was the happy spirit that had prevailed throughout that they had thoroughly enjoyed the game, which had been played under most perfect conditions with the sun pouring down from a cloudless sky over a cloudless game.
After the game the Visitors were entertained to a Dinner in the public Hall. Members who had not taken part in the game joined the party along with their wives, and the number sitting down to dinner was increased to 109. The dinner was beautifully served and thoroughly enjoyed by all and the same carefree happy spirit that had prevailed on the bowling green continued at dinner. This was noticeable when many of those present, feeling the heat rather oppressive, threw dignity aside and discarded blazers and jackets, so that they would enjoy themselves in comfort. After dinner, prizes were presented to each member of the highest up rink for the Visitors. A copy of the “History of the Corstorphine Club” was also given to each male member of the Belmont Club. Then followed the usual speeches of welcome, thanks and appreciation.
Even these were enjoyed as they were made in that happy breezy spirit that is always acceptable to the listeners. When their Captain, Mr Anderson, rose to reply to a toast given to his party, the Visitors all rose and before their Captain could speak, they shouted the following refrain:
“Why was he born so beautiful,
“Why was he born at all.”
That was just the spirit of the evening ‑ happiness and harmony.
During the evening the party were entertained by some members of the Strathspey Society ‑ 3 violinists and a pianist. Solos were sung by Miss Severn, Mrs Johnston, Mr Tom Borthwick and Mr R.Macdonald(the Vice President), and they were accompanied at the piano by Mrs Torrance in her usual accomplished manner. The various items rendered were highly appreciated by all present. Before bringing the proceedings to a close, Mr David Borthwick very ably conveyed to the artistes and to the Ladies Committee, the warm thanks of all present for their share in making the evening such a successful one. The evening was brought to a close by the singing of Auld Lang Syne and the National Anthem.
In conclusion, the Committee and the Club Members, I am sure, would like to record their great appreciation of the work done by the sub‑committee in arranging and organising the whole of the proceedings, also to two members of the Club , who worked like Trojans , but always in the back‑room, looking after the refreshments served during the evening. They did a grand job of work ‑ I refer to Messrs R.B.Johnston and D.Scobie. Our gratitude goes to the Presidents wife and her band of happy willing Lady Helpers who provided such a beautiful tea during the game, coupled with their happy spirit of service. To the Artistes ‑ Miss Severn, Mrs Johnston, Mrs Torrance, Mr Tom Borthwick, Mr R.Macdonald and the four players from the Strathspey Society, also the donors of the prizes and gifts, to Mr Gordon of the Corstorphine Tapestry Company, to Mr and Mrs MacPherson, the Hall Caretakers, who helped in no small way, and to anyone unnamed who assisted in any way, we as a Club say “Thank you all” for making Tuesday, 12 July 1949, one of the most pleasant and highly successful days in the annals of the Club.
An Appendix gives the names of all trophy winners in Club competitions between 1941 and 1949. Prominent once again was W Scobie (2) who already had five championship wins to his credit prior to 1935, the first being in 1926. He won the championship again in 1947 and 1949 and, remarkably, went on to win in the 1950s. Strong rivals were J Davidson, with three wins to his credit, in 1943, ’45 and ’46; and J Tait with a win in 1942, following two previous wins in 1937 and 1939.
W Scobie (2) and J Tait each skipped winning Walker Fours on two occasions during the period, as did G Davis.
A two‑bowl competition was started in 1943 and W Scobie (2) figured as an early winner in 1944. A future winner of several championships, J Moffat, picked up the two‑bowl trophy in 1948 and ’49. F Hastings, who won the championship in 1944, also won the two‑bowl in 1947.
The President versus Vice President and Secretary versus Treasurer matches on opening and closing days were always enjoyable fixtures despite being marred by the vagaries of the weather on numerous occasions.
The perversity of “bowling weather” is perhaps typified by opening day in 1947, when it is reported that the weather was so bad “only 24 ‘Braves’ took to the green”. The season that followed, however, is described as one of the best on record and the green closed on October 4, 1947 in “real summer‑like weather”. Such is the lot of Scottish Bowlers!
Honours in these matches were fairly evenly divided, with 6 wins to 3 for the President and 5 wins to 4 for the Secretary.
On the wider front of District and National competitions the Club did not make a significant impression. In 1948, however W Scobie (2), did win the District competition but, unfortunately, was eliminated in the first round of the Finals at Queens Park.
A brief report on the match states:‑ “Willie was beaten 21‑18 by A McGuiness, Coatbridge. The game was played in deplorable weather and conditions quite unsuitable for bowling. Willie played a good game, however, except for a brief spell in the middle of the tie, when he allowed his opponent to gain the lead. Otherwise it was felt he might have pulled off the tie and had that happened there was no saying how far he might have gone in the competition. Better luck next time, Willie”.
The only other success during the decade was the winning of the 2nd XVI District Trophy in 1946, the four rinks ending 61 shots up.
As a footnote to the play on the green during the Forties, two very special occasions deserve mention and they were covered in the Secretary’s annual report in 1945, as follows:‑
“In 1941, a suggestion box was fixed to the door of the Committee Room and week after week, I opened the box, hoping for a suggestion from a member, but all I got were applications for the extensions. However, one night I did pick a suggestion letter out of the box from two members. It was to the effect that on VE + 1 Day, we should have a special competition on the green and invite members wives and lady friends to tea. The Committee without any hesitation took up the suggestion and on May 9th 1945, in glorious weather, we had our ‘Victory in Europe’ celebrations.
Each member playing in the five rinks was allocated a number and during the tea, when 92 persons sat down, each lady present drew a number and those holding the corresponding numbers of the highest rink received suitable prizes. The success of this day was due in no small measure to Miss Kirk, who, notwithstanding it was a national holiday, provided a beautiful tea.
The enjoyment and success of this day encouraged the Committee to repeat the venture on the VJ Day holiday. On this occasion, there were 98 members, wives and friends at tea, this time provided, at very short notice, by some of the ladies. An additional enjoyable item being solos sung by Mrs Johnston, Miss Severn and Mr Mackenzie, ably accompanied on the piano by Mrs Torrance.
Both these days were voted as two of the most enjoyable ones ever spent on the green”.
Click here to return to the top of this page
CLUB AND CONSTITUTION, 1950-1959
At the 1950 AGM the treasurers report was supported by a printed copy of the Abstract of Accounts for the previous year and included with the minutes for the first time. This is reproduced below.
ABSTRACT OF ACCOUNTS from January 1st to December 31st 1949
|Balance brought forward||Greenkeepers wages||
153 14 0
|Cash in Bank||
10 9 9
6 0 0
78 13 0
5 0 0
52 4 7
6 0 9
£141 7 4
|Burgh Rates and Taxes||
22 6 0
|Annual Subscriptions —-||Gas and Electricity||
0 7 11
|110 @ £2.10/-;1 @ £1 5/-||
£276 5 0
7 13 0
20 0 0
4 18 6
2 17 0
|Alteration to Board||
7 7 0
0 8 0
2 15 0
0 15 0
|Maintenance of Green||
18 8 0
|Contributions to defray expenses||S.B.A. Sub. and Entry Fees||
4 10 0
|Teas Opening Day||
10 0 0
|E.& L.B.A. Sub. and Entry Fees||
3 15 6
1 12 0
|Catering for the Season||
41 2 0
4 0 0
|Hire of Cars||
6 10 0
2 0 0
2 15 0
£6 6 0
2 0 0
7 16 6
8 2 0
14 2 6
30 9 0
1 2 0
5 10 0
1 1 0
|Honorariums for Season 1948||
20 0 0
1 6 0
|Gratuity to Hallkeeper||
2 2 0
3 9 0
4 15 0
|Monies from Competitions —||Treasurer’s Expenses||
1 5 8
21 13 0
2 8 1
17 17 0
|Presentation – Opening Day||
1 1 0
3 0 0
|Prizes for Club Competitions||
34 18 0
3 6 0
7 16 6
|In Bank —|
53 12 6
23 12 10
1 1 1
80 12 0
|Bank Interest —||Green Fund||
53 10 7
1 7 3
157 15 5
1 19 0
1 6 0
4 12 3
£534 16 2
£534 16 2
S.L.GRIFFITHS, Hon. Treasurer
It can be seen that the balance was struck at £534 -16s-2d, the bulk of the income coming from annual subscriptions and entry fees. Monies from competitions and contributions to defray Catering Expenses, made up the rest. Expenditure was mainly on the green, principally Greenkeeper’s wages, the other big items being rates and rent, catering, prizes and honoraria.
Apart from the smallness of the various amounts themselves, it is perhaps of interest to note that the annual subscription had risen to £2‑10s and bank interest rates were of the order of 2 per cent.
Syd Griffiths was still Club Treasurer at the time and he served the club until 1954, completing a stint of 14 years. His successor, E.M. Clark, took over in 1955 and carried on for 10 years until 1964. There was a similar measure of continuity with the job of Secretary which was filled by A. Bell for seven years from 1950‑56, before he was succeeded by R. Marshall who in turn completed four years in the job, 1957‑60. By having such dedicated and long serving officials in such important posts, the club was indeed very fortunate.
The Fifties proved to be a very hectic period for the Club’s office bearers, mainly because at the 1951 AGM there was unanimous support for a proposal to revive the issue of registration, which had first been pursued unsuccessfully six years earlier. The task of obtaining registration and finally setting up proper bar facilities was to pre‑occupy the committee for the ensuing period of the decade.
The Club wrote to the Directors of the Public Hall Committee on the subject on April 9, 1951, but it was not until almost a year later, on February 6, 1952 that the Club Secretary received a reply giving consent.
Even so, there were two provisos. One, that the restrictions in the tea charter be modified by the ground superiors to cover the remainder of the lease and two, that the Club should bear all of the legal and other expenses involved. The Club accepted these provisions but the first one was to give rise to further delay because, initially, the Superiors refused to alter the tea charter which forbade the selling of alcoholic liquor. The matter was not resolved until September 19, 1953 when the Superiors eventually gave their consent to the sale of alcohol, but only for the period of each bowling season, May to September inclusive, and excluding Sundays.
The Club accepted these conditions yet it was not until the following year on May 6, 1954, that the Certificate of Registration was actually received.
The Committee were obviously pleased that their efforts had, at last, been successful but, in the event, subsequent minutes make it all too clear that their problems had only just begun. Obtaining the liquor licence was hard enough but arranging adequate bar facilities in the confines of a small Clubhouse gave rise to a fresh set of problems and, as the Committee, and all subsequent Committees were to find out, it is hard to satisfy everyone where the bar is concerned.
Initially, the Committee Room was extended to accommodate a small bar and this was opened for the start of the 1954 season, at the end of which the President was able to announce a gross profit of £222, leaving £90 clear after the alterations were paid for. A Bar Sub‑Committee was formed, a Bar Convenor appointed and much time and effort went into such matters as Revision of Byelaws, voluntary manning, hours of sale, pricing, stock handling, ventilation and cleaning arrangements.
Over and above such mundane matters the Committee had to deal with a threatened assault on the Bar Convenor by the Green Ranger, following the latter’s alleged interference with the deliveries of supplies for the bar. A formal letter of admonishment was sent to the Green Ranger by the Club Secretary and the Committee considered the incident sufficiently serious to include a copy of the letter in the Club minutes of August 5, 1955. The Bar Convenor felt obliged to resign shortly afterwards.
One other unsavoury incident is on record during the ’55 season and it concerned a visitor, whose name was on the waiting list, who was seen departing from the green in a very intoxicated condition. The Committee decided that “such an individual would not be a suitable member” and steps were taken to remove his name from the waiting list.
Fortunately, however, these “fringe matters” did not detract from the overall success of the bar and the membership were unanimous in endorsing plans for a major extension to the Clubhouse with improved facilities for dispensing refreshments and for entertaining visitors. Details of this project are given in the Chapter headed “Clubhouse and Green”.
There are two very interesting reports concerning the Club regalia which are recorded during the Fifties.
The first of these originated at the 1950 AGM when the President, W.R. MacDonald stated that it had been drawn to the Committee’s attention that the Club badge, a shield displaying three horns contravened the rules of heraldry. The Lord Lyon had been consulted and his advice was that the badge was illegal on two counts. Firstly, the three horns formed part of the coat of arms of Lord Verulum, heir to the Forrester estates, and were therefore his exclusive right. Secondly, the shield shape could only be used for heraldic purposes.
One horn could be used and the shape should be circular.
Accordingly, the Committee decided that a completely new design was required and recommended that it include the Corstorphine sycamore tree, Acer Pseudoplatunus Corstorphinensis along with one horn. These deliberations about the badge gave rise to further discussion on Club colours and on March 29 1950 the Committee decided upon a Club tie with medium navy blue and gold stripes with the width of the blue stripe being five times the width of the gold one. The actual dimensions are 15/16ths” against 3/16ths”.
One year later, at a meeting on May 25 1951, the Committee decided that all players taking part in Club matches should wear a blazer and tie, sporting the new badge and Club colours.
The second report concerns a rather bizarre incident which occurred in early 1958 and it obviously caused the Club a fair degree of concern.
Apparently, the Club agreed to participate in a Rotary sponsored exhibition with the theme “Know your Neighbourhood” and they put the new flag on display along with various photographs and medals. Strangely, the flag was lost and never recovered.
After an exchange of correspondence the Rotary Club agreed to accept full responsibility for the loss and to bear the cost of replacement at £13‑10s. It took all of six months, however, before a new flag could be obtained and during the interim the Club had to use the old original flag which, fortunately, was still in their possession. This original flag of course, bore the Forrester Coat of Arms, and the Club had to write to Lord Verulum for permission to use it. Happily, permission was readily given and the old flag flew at the masthead for much of the 1958 season.
As ever, there was a steady flow of suggestions for changes to the constitution, all of which were debated in Committee. Two suggestions which were rejected at the time but which were to be taken up years later were:‑
1) to accept an invitation to join a proposed North‑West League
2) to open the green on Saturday mornings.
A proposal which did find favour was one to amend Rule 19 which stated “No ladies shall be permitted to play on the Green”. The Club voted by a substantial majority at the 1958 AGM to insert a new Rule 20 to the effect that “Ladies (defined as wives and daughters of members) shall be permitted to play on the green on three afternoons in the week”. Bearing in mind that only a few years previously the Club had even refused permission for a lady visitor to use the Green, this new ruling represented a fairly significant change of heart on the part of the male membership.
A few other quite separate matters are worth mentioning for the Fifties.
In July 1951, the Club were hosts to the Civil Service Bowling Association for some of the games in their International Bowling Week, centred on Edinburgh. Corstorphine was the venue for Scotland v England Pairs, Scotland v Wales Triples, and Wales v England Rinks. These matches were played on Monday July 23 1951 and the Association played a friendly against Corstorphine in the evening.
On May 15 1951 the sad news was received that the Club’s famous internationalist, W.H. Scouller, had died in an Edinburgh nursing home after short illness. Willie Scouller’s achievements are well recorded in the “First Fifty Years” History and his obituary notice rightly described him as “one of Scotland’s greatest bowlers”.
In July 1955, A. Bell, Past President, presented the Club with a President’s badge which has been passed on to succeeding Presidents.
Clubhouse and Green, 1950-1959
Whereas during the previous decade the Green had been the cause of most concern it was the Clubhouse in the Fifties which was the focus of attention. The battle to obtain registration had been won and having established a small temporary bar during 1954, plans were prepared for a major extension to the Clubhouse. Extra ground had to be obtained from the Public Hall Company and as part of the bargain the lease for the site was re‑negotiated and extended by 12 years until the year 2007. The plans for the extension were eventually passed by the Dean of Guild Court on the 25 October 1957 and the newly extended Clubhouse, complete with bar was opened at the start of the 1958 season. The opening ceremony was performed by Mrs Davis, wife of the President.
The building work had cost the Club more that £2000 and the President in describing the achievement as “another milestone in the Club’s progress” was, also, generous in his praise for the support of the Building sub‑committee and the membership at large. Undoubtedly the Club’s amenities had been considerably improved and, in future, visitors could be entertained within the confines of the Clubhouse avoiding the need for such regular use of the Public Hall.
As far as the Green was concerned the reports on its condition throughout the Fifties were generally favourable. Obviously the green, re‑structured in the early Forties, had settled down and had responded to the attention it had been given. Much credit for this goes to Mr R.F. Mollison, who served as Green Ranger from 1920 until 1952, a stint of 32 years. Credit must also be due to members D. Borthwick and W. Scobie who served as Green Ranger and Greenkeeper respectively, throughout most of the remaining years during the Fifties. During this latter period the edges of the Green were raised and levelled and extra attention was given to the banking and the surrounds.
The difficulties of maintaining a good Green with the vagaries of the Scottish climate are perhaps well illustrated by the comments in the Annual Reports for the years 1957 and 1959. The 1957 season was a very wet one and deterioration of the playing surface is reported because of the soft condition. In 1959, the weather exceptionally fine and dry, and deterioration of the playing surface is reported because the Green was “baked and burnt”. Despite these slight hiccups, however, the Green was generally felt to be “one of the finest in Edinburgh”.
MATCHES AND COMPETITIONS 1950‑59
The programme of regular inter‑club matches featuring 1st and 2nd XVI’s was extended from eight to thirteen Clubs with the addition of Ardmillan, Beechwood, Lutton Place, Goldenacre and St Margarets. Of 105 1st XVI matches played during this ten year period Corstorphine won 64 and lost 41.
Blackhall and Gorgie Mills seem to have provided the stiffest opposition, the former with 7 wins and the latter with 6 wins, out of 9 meetings. With an overall success rate of around 63%, however, the Club could be well satisfied with its achievements.
The Club also played an average of six Friendly matches each year, with Selkirk, St Margarets, Civil Service, and Gala Abbotsford featuring regularly. In all, Corstorphine won 37 of the 66 friendlies played, losing 28 with one match tied.
Rewarding and enjoyable as the local inter‑club matches must have been there is no doubt, however, that most satisfaction in both the playing and the social sense, was derived from the five tours arranged during each odd year of the Fifties. Starting in 1951, the Club visited in turn Belfast, Hastings, Weston‑Super‑Mare, Bournemouth, and finally in 1959 Portrush.
It was probably the huge success of the Club’s first ever tour to Northern Ireland which provided the stimulus for future tours and it is worth including in this history the very full description of that visit from the 1951 Annual Report so that the full extent of the Irish hospitality can be appreciated.
“The full party included 30 playing members and as many ladies. The long months of preparation reached their climax on Saturday, 9 June, when the main party set off for Belfast. After a very smooth crossing, we landed there at about 6 a.m. on the following morning. At the Headquarters Hotel, at about 8 a.m. that same morning the Chairman and three other other officials of the Irish Bowling Association, who had come especially for the purpose, gave us a very warm welcome to Northern Ireland. This gesture on the part of the I.B.A. officials was greatly appreciated by all the tourists particularly as it exemplified the openhearted manner in which we were received wherever we visited. It would be impossible, within the short scope of this report, to give an adequate description of the week. Our Irish friends included a coach tour to Portrush and visits Stormont House and the Belfast City Hall, where the party were highly honoured at receiving a civic reception. Visits were also paid to a tobacco factory, linen weaving factory and the great Harland and Wolff shipyard.
It was perhaps fitting that our hosts on the Monday should have been the oldest club in Ireland, the Belfast Club, founded in 1842. They were, indeed, perfect hosts, even allowing their guests to record a win in their first match by 23 shots. After tea, to which the whole party had been invited the day’s proceedings were rounded off by a very homely singsong to which some of our own party contributed.
On the Tuesday the party travelled by coach to Larne. After lunch the team proceeded to the green, where we were accorded a very warm welcome by the President of the Larne B.C. The game was played in brilliant sunshine on a truly magnificent green and our players are to be congratulated on emerging winners by 19 shots, a feat only once previously accomplished by a touring side.
On Wednesday morning the party met at the City Hall where they were welcomed and entertained on behalf of the Lord Mayor by Alderman Walter Brown and his wife. The game that afternoon was played on the Ewart’s Club green, which was most beautifully situated, being built high and commanding a splendid view across a wide valley to the hills beyond. As regards the match, we had here to admit defeat by 22 shots, but this was really a very creditable performance as our opponents, the Northern Ireland private Green’s League had paid the Club a very great compliment by fielding a strongly represented team. That evening the whole party gathered in Thompson’s Restaurant, where we were joined by Officials of the I.B.A. and the Private Green’s League and also by representatives of each of the Clubs. A full company of 101 persons sat down to an excellent dinner, after which a musical programme was given by Mrs Haddow and Mrs Johnstone with Messrs. Anderson, Gordon and Macdonald, the musical accompaniments being pleasingly rendered by Mrs Torrance. The whole evening was voted a great success by our guests as well as by our own members.
On Thursday we had another great welcome from the Cavehill B.C. and here again we had to admit to being beaten by a better team by 23 shots. Perhaps our members were somewhat tired after walking miles round Harland and Wolff’s shipyard. Here as everywhere else, we were entertained right royally and the defeat was softened by the friendship and hospitality lavished upon us both during and after the game.
The warmest welcome of all awaited us on our arrival at the Belmont Club’s green on the Friday afternoon. The match was played seven rinks a side and, though the scoreboard, with a little manipulation, declared the result a draw, our team played well enough to record its third win. There is little doubt that the Belmont Park Touring Club had set themselves out to repay the friendship that had been shown them on the occasion of their visit to Corstorphine in 1949. The floral decorations in the Clubhouse were chosen to represent our Club colours and the surrounds of the green were gay with bunting. Here again the whole touring party were entertained most lavishly and, after dinner in the evening, enjoyed a first class concert, provided by a professional concert party.
Saturday found most of the party somewhat tired but quite happy. When the time came to board the steamer for home, many of our new friends, including the officials of the Irish Bowling Association, came along to bid us farewell. The steamer eventually pulled out to the strains of “Will ye no’ come back again” and We’re no’ awa’ tae bide awa'”. So ended what was probably the most eventful week in the Club’s history”.
The particularly close relationship that was developed with the Belmont B.C. resulted in return visits to Corstorphine on no less than three occasions, in 1952, 1954 and 1956. Thus, the hospitality received on the Northern Ireland tour was reciprocated and though the arrangements for the visitors were of necessity less lavish, they were no less warm and were well received.
Space precludes full description of the other four tours but it is safe to say that each was as enjoyable as the next and, in fact, the last one, to Portrush although less fully reported, was, nevertheless, “reckoned to be one of the most enjoyable tours yet, with perfect weather and hospitality to match”.
Detailed programmes in booklet form beautifully presented, were produced for each tour and copies are included in the appropriate minute books.
With regard to the Club competitions, the results of which are given in an Appendix, it can be seen that some familiar names re‑appear as winners of the Championship. W. Scobie (2) recorded his ninth and tenth victories in 1954 and 1956, J. Tait won his fourth championship in 1951, whilst T.H. Begg recorded wins in 1952 and 1959, following earlier ones in 1938 and 1948. The 1959 final, in which Begg beat W.D. Henderson, is reported as “one of the best finals ever witnessed on the Green”.
In the President’s handicap competition for the Victory Cup Andrew Bell’s name crops up again in 1952, following wins in 1942 and 1948, whilst in the new Vice‑President’s competition, also handicap, introduced in 1956, the first winner of the Sycamore cup, presented by A. Scott, was R. Burnett.
In 1951 one other competition was introduced, the prize for which was the Kerr Medal, last played for 20 years previously. The medal was re‑mounted on a plinth, to be competed for by eight rinks, drawn by ballot from 32 players who qualified via Monday hat nights. the competition to be run on a knock‑out basis on specified hat nights. The first winning rink was J. Graham, W. Potter, G.T. Haddow and J. Brown (Skip).
The most successful skip in Club competitions during the period, however seems to have been G. Davis, President 1958, who skipped successful rinks in the Walker Fours in 1951 and 1955, and in the Kerr Medal in 1952 and 1954.
The usual President v Vice President and Secretary v Treasurer matches were held at the beginning and end of each season with the V.P.’s up 6 wins to 4 and the Treasurer up 7 wins to 3.
The Club’s District and National achievements were somewhat better than during the previous decade, most notably the District winning Rink in 1954 of J. Borthwick, T.H. Begg, R. MacDonald and W. Scobie (2) (Skip) and the District winning Pairs, in 1958, of W. Borthwick and W. Scobie (2). Unfortunately, both Rinks and Pairs fell in the 2nd Round at Queen’s Park, but a commendable effort nevertheless.
W. Scobie (2) was also the Club’s representative in the Tait Trophy during 1956 and on this occasion he reached the District semi‑final. In fact W. Scobie’s performances for the Club over many years had not gone unnoticed in wider bowling circles and he was selected to take part in the International Trials in June 1950.
The Club’s other success in District competitions was the winning of the 2nd XVI Trophy by 50 shots up in 1953, a handsome cup last won by Corstorphine in 1933.
There were also wins in the Charity competitions, by a Rink in 1950 and Pairs in 1951. The Charity Rink was T.H. Sutcliffe, G.L. Griffiths, A.B. Scott and R. MacDonald (Skip) whilst the Charity Pairs
e D. Scobie and D. Borthwick.
One final success is worth noting, a rather unusual one, and it is described in the following extract from the Secretary of the Dawlish Bowling Club concerning the exploits a Corstorphine member who was on holiday in the town during 1958.
“It affords me great pleasure to convey to you and the members of the Corstorphine club the congratulations of the management committee of this club and the organisers of the Sefton Cup singles competition on the success of your colleague, Mr R Burnett, in winning the trophy.
The competition, now in the twenty‑third year of its existence, is open to residents of and visitors residing in the town over the period of the event. Mr Burnett is the first winner to take this lovely trophy out of the town, and great credit is due to him on his skill and sportsmanship throughout the competition.”
Click here to return to the top of this page
CLUB AND CONSTITUTION, 1960-1969
During the two previous decades a great deal of time and effort was spent on improvements to the pavilion and to the green whilst the Club’s bowling activities still followed much the same pattern as had been set in earlier years.
The sixties, however, were a period when attentions shifted away from the Club’s facilities towards the actual playing side and several important changes were made to the pattern of play which are reflected in present day activities. These changes may be covered under three main headings, Club Tours, Ladies Section, and League Competitions.
As far as touring is concerned, the five previous tours had all been well supported and hailed as highly successful so it was not surprising that another one, to the North East of Scotland, was proposed for 1961. Unfortunately, the initial response was very poor with only fifteen members expressing an interest. The Committee made efforts to stir up enthusiasm but this was not forthcoming and the idea was eventually dropped at the December 1960 A.G.M.
The reasons for this unexpected change of heart on the part of the membership are not made clear but the most likely explanation is that the earlier hard core of enthusiasts had reached a stage in their lives when they felt they could no longer enjoy to the same extent, the demands of touring in either the playing or social sense.
There may have been other factors, also. Perhaps the advent of cheap foreign holidays proved to be a more potent counter‑attraction or it may have been the involvement in competitive league bowling for the first time which influenced members. There could also have been some significance in the fact that there was a lessening of interest in the Club’s social activities generally, because the minutes frequently reported concern over the comparatively poor support for whist drives and the annual Club dinner. Times, were indeed, changing.
Whatever the reasons, it is a fact that although the view was expressed in committee that another tour should be considered after a few years had elapsed, the touring question never arose again during the Sixties.
The Club had long been indebted to the ladies for back‑up support, on the social side and with fund raising, but there had been no lady playing members since the 1930’s. There was however, a revival of interest for playing by the wives of members in the late 50’s and at the December ’58 A.G.M. a rules revision was agreed to the effect that:‑
“Ladies shall be permitted to play on the green on certain afternoons specified by the Committee, or on special occasions approved by the Committee. The number of rinks permitted and other details will be decided by the Committee.”
The actual conditions imposed by the Committee were subsequently agreed at a meeting on 27th February 1959 as follows:‑
1. The term “ladies” was to apply to wives and daughters of members.
2. They would be allowed to play between 2.30pm and 5.30pm on Tuesdays and Thursdays.
3. They would have the use of two rinks.
These fairly tight restrictions suggest that the decision to allow the ladies use of the green met with less than unanimous support from the main body of male members but the ladies, having got their foot in the door, as it were, were not to be denied and their fight, and that’s what it seems to have been, to gain wider recognition went on throughout the Sixties.
As early as May 1960, the Committee granted a request from the ladies for a third rink in the afternoons and in September 1960 a special request to allow a 4 rink game against Leith ladies was granted.
During the 1961 season a Ladies day was held on a Saturday for the first time but is was not until October 1961, however, that the first move to form a proper ‘Ladies Section’ was taken when a meeting was held between Mr J Moffat, President and Mr A Bell, Past President and some of the members wives. As a consequence of this meeting an amendment to the constitution was put to the December 1961 A.G.M., adding the following sentence to Rule 20.
“The Ladies shall have no voice in the affairs of the Club. They may form an organisation to be known as “Corstorphine Bowling Club ‑ Ladies Section, the conditions of which shall be subject to the approval of the Club Committee”.
The motion was carried by 38 votes to 8.
The opening statement, that the ladies would have no voice in the running of the Club has a somewhat severe ring to it, but notwithstanding, the facilities awarded the ladies were gradually extended bit by bit, and were a recurring matter for discussion at Committee meetings.
In April 1962 the Ladies were granted permission to purchase blazer badges and their officials were allowed to wear the men’s club badge, which had a brooch fitting. Permission was also granted for a Ladies Section notice board in the Clubhouse. By 1965, the Ladies Section had access to the Committee room for meetings, its own lockers, cupboard and Honours Board. The membership was increased to forty, and it had also been agreed that wives of Associate members could join.
A request for additional playing facilitates in the afternoon was rejected by secret ballot at the A.G.M. of 16 December 1964 but this was merely deferring the inevitable, and in 1965 the Ladies were allowed four friendly matches on the home green during the season. At the 1969 A.G.M. the Ladies were granted access to the green on every weekday afternoon and by this time also, they were sporting club badges incorporating the inscription “Ladies Section”.
It has to be admitted that the emergence of the Ladies as a force in the Club’s activities did not meet with universal approval and there are several less than gracious comments by male members contained in the records which are perhaps best left unreported here. By and large, however, the co‑existence between the main body of male bowlers and the Ladies Section could fairly be described as harmonious and, as year followed year, increasingly so.
Perhaps the most important matter on the playing side during the Sixties, was the decision taken on 27 November 1961 to participate in competitive bowling and join the newly formed Western Edinburgh League. The first league matches were played during the 1962 season and the immediate effect was to reduce the number of “other matches” and relegate these outings to “Friendlies” of secondary importance. The Club’s commitment to the league competition quickly became paramount and this was further emphasised at the 1962 AGM when an amendment to Rule 17 was carried which proposed formation of a five man Selection Committee and which also set out the rules for selecting 1st and 2nd XVI’s.
There were eleven Clubs in the Western League namely, Corstorphine, Sighthill, Longstone, Carrick Knowe, Caledonian Railway, Bainfield, Fountain Brewery, Lorimer and Clark, N.B. Distillery, West End and Bertrams, the first eight of which also fielded 2nd XVI’s.
Corstorphine acquitted themselves well in the Leagues, winning the 1st XVI trophy in successive years, 1965 and 1966, and the Alliances 2nd XVI section in 1965. Despite these, successes however, there was growing dissatisfaction with both the general standard of play and the quality of some of the greens. After discussing these matters at a Committee meeting on 9 November 1966 it was decided that it would be in the best interests of the Club to resign from the Western League forthwith and join the North‑West Edinburgh League for the 1967 season. A motion to this effect was carried at the December 1966 A.G.M.
The teams in the N.W. League at the time were Queensberry, Tanfield, Wardie, Blackhall, Northern, Dean, Maitland, Edinburgh Gas and Ferranti’s.
The Club has not regretted joining the North West League, although, at the time, they received criticism from some of their former opponents in the Western League because of the seemingly abrupt manner in which the switch was made.
All of the aforementioned North West League Clubs, other than Ferranti’s participate to the present day and the standard of the play as well as that of the greens, has been generally up to expectations.
One or two other items concerning the running of the Club during the Sixties are perhaps worthy of mention.
Firstly, in his Financial Statement for the year ended 31 October 1962 the Treasuers, E.H. Clark, expressed concern at the Club’s precarious financial position stemming from the outstanding bank loan and the un‑repaid loans from members for the Clubhouse extension plus an unexpected fall in bar profits. It took until 1967 before the Club Treasurer by this time J.G. Masson, was able to report a healthier position and during the intervening years much effort went into achieving a more stringent control over the Club’s finances. This success stemmed largely from a Committee meeting on 1st June 1962 when it was decided to set up a finance sub‑committee whose remit was to advise and assist the Treasurer in all financial matters and also to scrutinise and approve for payment all accounts, including those for the bar. At the same meeting the duties of the House, Bar, and Entertainments sub‑committees were all re‑defined.
The Club’s revenue received a further boost in May 1967 when it was agreed to introduce a “one‑armed bandit” fruit machine for the first time, despite reservations from some of the members. More importantly, following a Special General Meeting on 28 March 1968 the membership of the Club was increased from 110 to 120. By the 1969 A.G.M. the Club’s finances were more or less satisfactory, so much so it seems, that one member proposed a reduction in the annual subscription from £6 to £5. Fortunately, the motion was not carried and the satus quo was returned by a majority vote of 28 to 22.
A Special General meeting of the Club on 5 June 1967 also deserves mention because if was called to consider a) purchase of the feu for the grounds and b) extension of the bar licence to cover the winter months. The meeting decided that an approach should be made to the Public Hall Company on both counts but in the event the Company were not prepared to consider sale of the feu and the Club rejected an offer to extend the licence because an increase in the ground rental from £25 to £75 was demanded.
As a final note on the Sixties it is worth recording that on the 16 March 1964, the Club decided to drop “The” from the name of the Club which thenceforth would be known as “Corstorphine Bowling Club”.
CLUBHOUSE AND GREEN, 1960-1969
As has been stated already, much work had been done in earlier years on both Clubhouse and green and very little other than good housekeeping and regular maintenance was required during the Sixties.
The Clubhouse was re‑decorated 1966 , additional lockers were provided in 1968 and a tool shed was built in 1962, other than that, the only other matter of note was a burglary on 30 May 1969 when some structural damage was incurred and bar stock to the sum of £20 was stolen.
The condition of the green was considered to be satisfactory for most of the Sixties, and increasingly so in the later years. The efforts and expense put in during the previous decade were clearly paying off but, equally important, the Club was fortunate in having a most able Greenranger in Ex‑President, John Moffat, throughout most of the period. After a couple of years from his initial appointment in 1963 Mr Moffat’s re‑appointment as Greenranger was “enthusiastically approved” year after year and the reasons for this are made quite clear in succeeding Annual Reports from 1965 onwards. Whereas in the late Fifties the green was in good shape, problems had started to arise in the early sixties when the playing surface was affected by moss and fusarium. By the mid‑sixties the green was back in good shape again as the following extracts from the Annual Reports testify.
1965 “best for many years”
1966 “one of best in area”
1967 “one of best in district”
1968 “very good playing surface, money well spent”
1969 ” second to none in district”
Mr Moffat saw to a levelling of the green, a hand‑scarifying of the surface by a team of volunteers, improvement to the surrounds, including a new privet hedge on the west side, and a new colour system for setting the heads. Mr Moffat was fortunate in having the support of a full‑time Greenkeeper, but it is nevertheless clear, that his was the guiding hand behind the various improvements and the good maintenance.
MATCHES AND COMPETITIONS 1960‑69
It is not as easy to summarise the inter‑club match results during the Sixties as it was for earlier decades because the Club’s programme was radically altered by the introduction of competitive league bowling in 1962 and changed again by the switch from the Western to the North Western league in 1967.
In 1960 and 61, the traditional “inter‑club matches plus friendlies” format was carried through. The following five years ’62 to ’66 inclusive, were spent in the Western League and the switch to the North Western League was made in 1967. From 1962 onwards the numbers of inter‑club and ‘other’ matches was reduced quite dramatically to accommodate league fixtures. During ’61 and ’62 Corstorphine played 26 Inter‑club matches, (wins 16, defeats 9, ties 1) whilst of 10 “other” matches, 4 were won and 6 lost.
During the five years of the Western League Corstorphine were able to register some notable successes, winning the 1st XVI competition in 1965 and again in 1966 whilst the 2nd XVI also won the Alliance League in 1965. Competition in the North‑West League seems to have been that much stiffer, however, because in each of the three years ’67 to ’69 only mid‑league positions were achieved by the 1st XVI, although the 2nd XVI managed a second place in their section in 1968.
Naturally enough the League fixtures took precedence from 1962 to ’69 but the Club continued with a much reduced programme of “other matches”, amounting to a total of 65 games. Of these 43 were won and 22 lost. Looking back over the whole 10 year period of inter‑club and “other” matches but excluding league fixtures, 101 games were played.
Corstorphine won 53, lost 37 and tied 1 a success rate of 63%. Very commendable, and very much in keeping with past performances.
The various Club competitions went on much as before the only innovation being the introduction of a Triples competition in 1968 for the “Davis” Cup, a trophy donated by the former President George Davis.
As far as the Championship was concerned a previous winner in 1958, Tommy Kerr, recorded his second win in 1967. Two other names were also to appear, and not for the only time. Johnny Moffat was the winner in 1963 and ’68 and Willie Kidd won in 1969 but each of these worthy bowlers was to go on to notch up no less than five Championship victories in succeeding years.
The President’s Victory Cup was won on two occasions by S. Wishart, in 1964 and ’67, and J. Sim recorded a second win, having won previously in 1953.
In the Two‑Bowl, J. Tait, W.D. Henderson, J.S. Brodie, and J.J. Moffat, all ex‑champions, recorded wins in 1960, ’61,’67, and 69 respectively whilst in the Club Pairs, T.H. Begg and N. Wood each skipped the winners in successive years, ’60/61 and ’67/68 respectively.
In the Walker fours W.D. Henderson and R. MacDonald each skipped winning rinks on two occasions and similarly, J. Sim and J.H. Lawrie were twice winning skips for the Kerr Medal. W.D. Henderson also skipped the first winning triple in the new competition instituted in 1968. His playing partners were R. Sutherland and S. Wishart.
The records for the President v Vice President and Secretary v Treasurer matches are incomplete but from the information that is available it seems that the spoils were fairly evenly shared.
In the District and S.B.A. competitions there were notable performances by Corstorphine rinks in the years 1961 and 1969.
In 1961 a rink comprising J.J. Moffat, T.H. Begg, W.D. Henderson and W. Scobie (Skip) won at District level but unfortunately went down in the 1st round at Queens Park to the eventual winners, Bishopbriggs B.C. The 1969 rink of D. Dunlop, T.H. Kerr, J.C.M. Connet and J.H. Lawrie (Skip) did even better, reaching the final at Queens Park and being only narrowly beaten by a rink from Cardonald, Glasgow. This remains the Corstorphine Clubs best achievement in the S.B.A. finals during the second fifty years of the Club’s history and the four are pictured in their whites outside the old Clubhouse with their runner’s up medals.
Other District performances of note were in 1963 when Johnny Moffat reached the semi‑final of the Tait Trophy and in 1969 when Sandy Ralston and Willie Henderson just failed to win the final of the Coronation Pairs. In 1969 also, Sandy Ralston, this time partnered by Jack Pettigrew, won the Charity Pairs.
Four other, perhaps minor, trophies found their way to Corstorphine during the Sixties. In 1961, a rink of committee members won the McKay Trophy for the first time when they beat the E. & L.B.A. Committee. The other three were won in 1964. The Club sent a rink to Dunfermline to win the James Black Trophy against Cowdenbeath B.C. and then, at home, the Inveresk Trophy was won against a rink from West Calder B.C. Lastly, Past Presidents, J. Sim. J. Meldrum, D.A. Hall, A. Murdoch and R. MacDonald won the Malcolm Smith Trophy.
On a slightly less satisfactory note, the records show that Corstorphine failed to contest the Tait Trophy in 1961 because the Club’s own Championship was not completed in time to submit an entry. Again in 1962, there was no entry but this time it was because the Club Champion was on holiday.
In similar vein, the club failed to send a rink to compete in the Richardson Trophy in 1960 and were barred from competing the following year as a consequence. In fact, the records for the Richardson in succeeding years are sketchy, to say the least, and only one other result, 1 shot down in 1964 is on record. The Club seems to have become disenchanted with this particular competition.
Click here to return to the top of this page
CLUB AND CONSTITUTION, 1970-1979
The decade of the Seventies was one which, to borrow a familiar sporting cliché, could be described as a game of two halves.
The first five years saw little by way of fundamental change but they were notable, nevertheless, for the steady progress that was made towards improving the existing facilities and encouraging the membership at large to make better use of them. Much effort also went into consolidating and improving the Club’s playing performance and the appearance of several fresh names amongst the trophy winners was being reflected in league and S.B.A. team selections.
By contrast, the second five year period threw up several matters which brought about changes to the administration and had an important bearing on the Club’s future. These are copiously recorded in the minute books.
Looking at the early years, the first matter of note is that on 20 May 1970 a letter was received accepting the Club as a Kindred Associate of the Corstorphine Trust and Tom Kerr, Vice President, was appointed representative to the Council. At the A.G.M. of that same year, Andrew Bell was awarded Life Membership in recognition of his service to the Club and to the game of bowling in general.
At the 1971 A.G.M. it was announced that Eric Sanderson the immediate Past President, had been elected President of the N.W.E.B.L. and at the same meeting Jack Pettigrew’s resignation from the post of Secretary was accepted with great regret, Jack having served in that capacity for the previous 8 years.
On 23 February 1972 a Special Committee Meeting was held to consider the purchase of one acre of ground at Woodbine Nursery, at an upset price of £15,000. The ground had belonged to Bob Mollison, a long‑standing and respected member of the Club, who in his Will stated a wish that his property be preserved in some way “for the benefit of Corstorphine, the village, and its inhabitants”. After a lengthy discussion the committee decided, with some regret, that such a project was beyond the Club’s finances, and no further action should be taken.
During the 1973 season, two new trophies were presented to the Club for annual competition. The first was given by Mr G Davis and his son G.F. Davis for the triples, now known as the “Davies Triples” and the second, the Cathie Connet Trophy, was gifted by Mr J.C.H. Connet for a friendly competition in association with the Ladies section.
Before the first half of the decade had been completed it had been agreed that there would be a mixed hat‑night on selected Saturdays, that the “Over and Under 60’s” match would be an annual event, and, at the instigation of Ian Stirling, that a ‘proper’ two‑bowl singles competition be introduced to replace the Newington House two‑bowl format. Other matters included a burglary, a police visit regarding a gaming licence for the fruit machine, replacement of the flag, and a statement from the committee to the membership at large condemning the practice of gambling on the green which was considered to be “detrimental to the ideals of the game and the social atmosphere of the Club”.
Moving ahead to the later years of the Seventies, it was at a Special General Meeting on 2 February 1972 that the long running debate on the status of Lady members was brought to a head. Mr W. Kidd, Vice President presented a strong case in favour of an amendment to Rule 20 which would give the ladies Associate Membership, would require them to pay an annual subscription, and extend their playing times to include all afternoons Sunday to Friday, Saturday and Sunday evenings, and other occasions subject to committee approval. The amendment was accepted by the meeting, and, bearing in mind that membership of the Ladies Section was increased from 35 to 40 in 1970, and again from 40 to 45 in 1972, the ladies cause had been advanced significantly. Mr Kidd expressed the view that “the Club would benefit from a Ladies Section which was an integral part of Club activities, with better relations between the Mens’ and the Ladies Section”.
During the years 1976 and 1977 a great deal of time was spent considering changes to the Constitution, Byelaws, and Rules for competition.
Most of the amendments to the Constitution were for clarifying and updating the powers of the Committee whilst those affecting the Byelaws and Rules for Competitions came about because of the growing enthusiasm for competitive bowling, particularly amongst the newer members. League bowling was firmly established, extra competitions were being played (Davis Triples, Two‑bowl, Nominated Pairs and Murdoch Finalist Singles) and although the bowling environment remained essentially “friendly” a new competitive ‘edge’ to the game had become evident. Consequently, tighter regulation of competitions was instituted, to conform with S.B.A. rulings, to minimise cause for complaint from those competing and, also, to make best use of the green‑time available.
Concomitant with the aforementioned changes to Rules and Constitution, Jim McBeath, Secretary for the years 1976 and 77, put forward proposals for a major re‑organisation of the Committee and backed this up with a whole range of procedural changes, all aimed at streamlining the Club’s administration. These matters were discussed on Committee during October and November 1976 and most of the ideas were adopted. The re‑organisation was aimed primarily at making the job of the principal office‑bearers less onerous and entailed a re‑definition of all duties on committee as well as some re‑allocation of work‑loads. The procedural changes which were introduced, were many and varied, covering such matters as:‑
- Advance payment of annual subscriptions.
- A booking procedure for allocating rinks.
- Notification of entry for singles competition prior to A.G.M.
- Charging for league games.
- Payment for meals at home friendly games.
- Revised application form for membership.
- Different method of payment to N.W.E.B.L.
- Committee meetings only if justified by amount of business.
Two other suggestions, to close the waiting list and to have an upper age limit for new members were held over whilst a third, to instal a telephone in the Clubhouse, was rejected. Nevertheless, all three suggestions were to find favour in later years.
A matter of particular importance to the Club’s future prospects was triggered off in August 1976 when a letter was received from the Public Hall Company seeking a voluntary increase in the annual rent which under the terms of the lease stood at £25.p.a. until the year 2007. The committee recognised that the P.H.C. had “a moral case for revision of rent to cope with inflation” but rather than negotiate increases on an ongoing basis until the lease expired they decided that a better idea would be to seek outright purchase of the ground. Accordingly, a proposition on these lines was put to the December ’77 A.G.M. and the committee were authorised to start negotiations, subject to a Special General Meeting before any agreement was finalised.
The main argument in favour of purchase was that there was no security of tenure after the year 2007 when the Club would be faced with a prohibitive revised rental or, more likely, the ground would be sold off for alternative use, at a price the Club could not afford.
Understandably the negotiations with the P.H.C. were protracted and took almost a year to complete. It was not until the 31 August ’77 that the committee was able to call a Special General Meeting and obtain the members unanimous support to conclude purchase.
The purchase price totalled £4,000 made up of £3,585 cash plus 415 £1 shares in the Public Hall Company and included the proviso that if the Bowling Club was ever wound up or the site vacated the ground would revert to the P.H.C. or some other suitable local body (eg. Corstorphine Trust) without charge.
As part of the Club’s financial provisions, bank borrowing was arranged to the tune of £1,500 and interest free loans, in units of £10 repayable within three years, were sought from the membership. More than £2,000 was raised in this way.
The actual share certificates were received on the 3 December 1977 and the covering letter indicated that Ian Sutherland had been co‑opted as a Director of the P.H.C. to represent the Club’s interests. Formal ownership of the ground was finally passed to the Club on 1 January 1978.
Having cleared this major hurdle the Club could now invest in the future with more confidence and as confirmation of this intent the Constitution was amended to set up a Development Fund “solely for the provision of improvements to the club facilities, into which there would be paid the proceeds of all functions and money raising efforts specifically designated for that purpose”.
By the end of 1979, the Development fund had accrued £5,500 and with the promise of loans of £5,000 and £6,000 from the Scottish Sports Council and Scottish & Newcastle Breweries respectively, a total expenditure of £18.000 was available for the initial stages of a major Clubhouse extension. Despite some concern that the Club could become a Social, rather than a Bowling, Club, a Special General Meeting on 29 August 1979 accepted assurances to the contrary and approved the expenditure by 60 votes for, to 1 against.
The one remaining item of major significance during the late Seventies was the establishment of a Senior Section following a meeting of “over 60’s” in the Clubhouse on the afternoon of 12 April 1978. J.M. Waddell was elected as the first President, J.R. Pettigrew was Secretary, C.M. Ruxton was Treasurer and the Section started with 47 members.
On 8 January 1979 the Club was pleased to accept the gift of a set of bowls which belonged to their most illustrious player W.H. Scouller whilst later that year, the Club sent a birthday card and a bottle of whisky to former Club Champion and Past President W. Scobie (1) on his 100th birthday.
The seventies were concluded appropriately enough, with the decision to make John Moffat a Life Member of the Club, an honour which was duly conferred with wholehearted approval at the A.G.M. on 2 February 1980.
CLUBHOUSE AND GREEN, 1970-1979
For the greater part of the seventies most of the work on the Clubhouse was general maintenance accompanied by a series of minor alterations to improve the amenities and generally make the accommodation more attractive for the members.
The paint work was re‑done in 1971, 1973 and again in 1978. The bar received regular attention in many ways to speed up service, to improve hygiene, and to strengthen security arrangements. New lounge furniture was installed before the start of the 1978 season.
It was the purchase of the ground at the end of 1977 which offered the opportunity for more ambitious plans and with the setting up of the Development Fund under the convenership of R Page a major extension of the Clubhouse was initiated. The work would be done in stages because of financial limitations and Phase I would extend the front of the building, build new lounge and toilet facilities, and instal efficient air conditioning.
The plans and the financial outlay were given final approval at a Special General Meeting on 29 August 1979 and the construction work eventually got underway early in 1980.
The green itself seems to have remained in a fairly satisfactory condition throughout the Seventies, under the watchful eye of Green Ranger, John Moffat, and complimentary references are made about the playing surface in a number of the Annual Reports.
In the 1972 Report, the Greenranger reported that he was “highly delighted with the condition of the green. Mr Kay, the Greenkeeper had levelled off the edges of the green, a splendid job of which the Club can be proud”.
In 1973, it was reported that “the condition of the green had been further improved by a special compost applied to the heads”.
“A playing surface worthy of the name of Corstorphine” was reported at the 1975 A.G.M. and the following year brought the comment “a splendid surface”. The green was again said to be “in excellent condition” for the start of the 1978 season but, later on, some pearl wort took hold in the dry conditions and some late‑night watering was carried out to prevent further spreading of the weed. In fact, after the ’78 playing season was concluded a programme of scarifying and slicing was deemed necessary and duly carried out by a contractor. It says much for the diligence of the Green Ranger that on examination of the work he did not consider that the slicing had been done properly and prevailed upon the contractor to repeat the operation.
Although the actual green always received first priority a great deal of thought and energy was also expended on the surrounds to ease maintenance and to improve the appearance.
A major re‑construction of the four banks surrounding the green was carried out by a contractor in 1975 at a cost of £607. As a matter of interest, the specification was:‑
“To re‑turf the banks with best quality sea‑washed turf, the level flat top of the banks to be 12 inches wide, and not less than 9 inches above the level of the green. The new banks will have a slope back from the top of the bank board to the top of the level verge turf of approximately 6 inches. All face turves will be pegged to the bank with small wooden pegs and the joints between face turves and top level verge turves will be carefully mitred”.
Other work included the building of new steps and slabbing at the gate, and the provision of new steps to the green. Some old trees were replaced by shrubs and rose bushes were planted in the surrounding borders. On the 16 November 1968, Ron Wilkie was awarded special mention for his assistance with hedge clipping.
John Moffat retired as Green Ranger at the end of the 1979 season after 17 years in the job and in his last report to the A.G.M. he reminded the meeting of the varying weather conditions that green staff had to contend with in this country. “The spread of fusarium, pearl wart, moss, and the like could only be held in check by constant attention and this in turn necessitated an appropriate level of expenditure, which must be forthcoming if a good playing surface was to be maintained.”
MATCHES AND COMPETITIONS 1970‑79
Corstorphine’s performance in the North West Edinburgh Bowling League (N.W.E.B.L.) could be described as no better than patchy over this decade. The 1st XVI’s best years were in 1971 and 1973 when they were runners‑up and in 1976 when they took 3rd place. The 2nd XVI did marginally better, winning their league in 1976 and being highly placed the following year.
A programme of friendly matches, averaging eight or so games per year, was carried out and although records are incomplete it would be fair to say that, over the piece, Corstorphine won more than they lost.
On the District and S.B.A. front, the Club recorded some notable successes and pride of place must go to the S.B.A. Fours of S.D. Wilson, J.J. Moffat, J.C. Connet, and W.E. Kidd who, in 1974 won the District V Final and got as far as the Semi‑Finals of the Scottish Championships at Queens Park.
Three of that same four, Wilson, Connet and Kidd, also won a N.W.E.B.L. Triples Knock‑Out competition in the same year.
The following year, 1975, a triple of J.R. Pettigrew, J. Eaglesham and J. Stirling also made it to Queens Park but this time the Corstorphine representation fell at the first round.
In E.& L.B.A. competitions the Club did well to win the 1st XVI Trophy in 1974 and the prestigious J.R. Sharp Trophy in 1976.
The Seniors also made their mark, winning their afternoon league in 1970 whilst in 1971 and again in 1978, Senior S.B.A. Fours made it to Queens Park. In 1979, Tom Connolly won the N.W.E.B.L. Senior Singles, the first and only time to date, that the Club has won this honour. More details of these achievements are given in the Chapter covering Senior Section activities.
At Club level during the Seventies the Championship was dominated by three individuals, J.J. Moffat, W.E. Kidd, and J. Stirling. Johnny Moffat in 1970, ’71 and ’74 bringing his number of Championship wins up to the grand total of five. Willie Kidd brought his total up to four with wins in 1972, ’76, and ’78, and was later to equal Johnny Moffat’s achievement with another win in 1980. Ian Stirling recorded his first Championship win in 1977, following up with a second success in 1979.
In the President’s Victory Cup Handicap Competition J.H. Lawrie won twice in 1971 and 1972, as did W.E. Kidd who won in 1976 and 1979. S.D. Wishart won both the Championship and Presidents competitions in 1975, a feat equalled by Willie Kidd the following year.
The Newington House Two‑Bowl was won a couple of times in 1971 and 1973 by D.M. Dunlop, before the competition was lapsed in 1976. It seems to have lost favour following the introduction of the ‘Sanbro’ two‑bowl singles competition in 1974. The Sanbro Trophy was donated by Eric Brown Sanderson and was first won by John Moffat.
Another new competition, for the Murdoch Trophy, donated by Ian Murdoch in memory of his father Alexander who was President in 1960, was introduced in 1976, to be competed for by the sixteen bowlers who made up the semi‑finalists of the four major singles competitions, namely, Championship, Presidents, Vice‑Presidents, and ‘Sanbro’ Two Bowl. The first winner was P.G. Bruce, who won again in 1978, whilst W.E. Kidd had successes in 1977 and 1979.
In the Pairs, Triples and Fours competitions the winning skips names which figure most prominently during this period are those of J.H. Lawrie, W.E. Kidd and J. Stirling. Each of these had multiple wins in all events, adequate testimony to their all round abilities on the green.
Click here to return to the top of this page
CLUB AND CONSTITUTION, 1980-1989
The effort which went into planning and financing Phase I of the Clubhouse extension during the late seventies bore fruit when the building work was put in hand in early 1980 and completed by the 6th March. This was followed by a major re‑furbishing and re‑decoration of the lounge/bar area with the willing help of member volunteers.
At the behest of the Club Solicitor, to satisfy the terms of monies loaned for the extension, a Special General Meeting was called on 30th June 1980 to amend the Club constitution with the addition of a new rule 33, to the effect that:‑ “The property of the Club shall be vested in the President, Vice‑President, Green Ranger, Treasurer and Secretary for the time being of the Club as Trustees ex‑officio of the Club. The trustees shall have power to borrow on the security of the property of the Club but such power will be exercised only with the consent of a majority of the members present at a General Meeting of the Club”.
A vote in favour was carried unanimously.
Within a year the committee was actively considering the possibilities for a Phase II extension and at one stage it was thought that an upper floor addition would be possible. The cost of this proved to be prohibitive however, and it was decided to concentrate on a further ground floor extension only. The proposals were put to a Special General Meeting on 3rd February 1983 when it was also agreed that a £10 levy to cover part of the costs, be placed upon all forms of membership excluding non‑playing members, for a period of 2 years.
The Phase II extension started on 7th March 1983 and the bulk of the construction work was completed for the start of the new season.
The Development Fund Sub‑Committee played an important role in fund raising and they were particularly active during the early‑eighties. At times the support of the membership for many of the social events that the committee organised was not all it might have been, but even so, the amounts of money raised were substantial. In fact, so much money was being handled by this Sub‑Committee that it was deemed prudent to have the fund audited along with the main account.
As an illustration of the commitment and the contribution made by those involved with fund raising it would not go amiss to include an extract from the Development Fund report made by Ian Sutherland, a Past President at the A.G.M. of 1st February 1984.
“Eric Sanderson is Chairman of the committee and as such he does a tremendous amount of work and he is greatly assisted by his wife Dot, who generally does most of the work in connection with the Saturday night raffles.
Kath Kerr, Marion Haswell and Alie Sutherland are the three ladies on the committee and they always get the heavy end of the stick as regards catering at any social event. Eric and Marion Haswell organise the Tote Double, and Eric also organised the Christmas Raffle in 1983. Davie Ross and John Marshall are always there and willing to help and they have been well supported in their work by their wives.
We are also due thanks to David Adam in his year as President for his complete support and thanks also to his wife, Bette.
All in all, I think it would be fair to say that the Club would be a poorer place without the efforts of the Development committee over the last few years and it would be encouraging to receive a little more support from the membership at large”.
In the year ended 30.11.83 the total funds raised amounted to £2783.94p.
The Club Constitution and Rules had undergone a fair degree of addition and amendment over the previous two decades, particularly with new rules and bye‑laws governing competitions, the introduction of Ladies and Senior Sections and the decision to sell Alcoholic Beverages. Consequently, a Rules Revision Sub‑Committee was set up under the Chairmanship of Bob Page and the revised constitution was eventually approved by the membership at a Special General Meeting on 22nd January 1981.
The Constitution was yet to undergo one other major change during the Eighties, however, when at the AGM of 1st February 1984 the formation of a Junior Section was proposed.
Whilst the need to bring younger players into the game was generally accepted, there were certain reservations expressed regarding the practicability of such a move. The main concerns were over the desirability of allowing youngsters into a Clubhouse with a bar and also over the ethics of granting automatic full membership at age sixteen thereby giving preference over those applicants already on a very long waiting list.
A sub‑committee was set up under Ron Whitson to consider the position but when their proposals were put to the full committee a decision was taken against forming a Junior Section. The matter was raised again, however, at the 1985 AGM and when the members were asked to vote on the issue the voting went 28 For to 21 Against.
Having re‑considered, the committee called a Special General Meeting on 7th May 1985 and proposed the following change to the Constitution.
“Junior Membership shall be confined to boys between the ages of 12 and 16 years at 30th April. They shall pay an annual subscription which shall be fixed at the AGM of the Club. Application for membership will be subject to the conditions of para 4.1. The number of Juniors will not exceed 12. The times at which they can play and their supervision will be regulated by the committee.
At no time shall Junior members be in the Bar area when the Bar is open. Junior members with not less than two years membership may, on reaching the age of 16 years, be considered for full membership at the discretion of the Committee, such membership being granted in preference to applicants on the Waiting list, at which time the payment of the entry fee and appropriate Annual Subscription will become payable”.
After lengthy debate a proposal not to form a Junior Section was defeated by 23 votes to 14.
An induction course for the new Juniors eventually took place on 29th April 1986 and the Section was soon established as an integral part of Club activities.
In view of the long drawn‑out saga of the Ladies Section it is perhaps worth noting that there is no mention of girls eligibility in the rules for the Junior Section, but it could well become a contentious issue in the foreseeable future along with other matters affecting the role of women in the activities and the administration of the Club.
This history would not be complete without recognition of the central role played by the Bar towards the general well‑being of the Club. The contribution to Club Funds from Bar Profits was more than one‑third of total income in 1989 and the bar is, of course, the focal point for “apres ‑ bowl” socialising and hospitality.
The introduction of a bar back in 1945 was undoubtedly a welcome and successful move but it does present the Club with ongoing administrative problems and the job of Bar Convenor is certainly no sinecure, particularly where staffing is done on a voluntary basis. Just as much of the Club activity centres on the bar, much of the minuted discussion in the records concerns the running of the Bar.
Matters of particular concern are pricing, stock‑taking, profit‑margins, the maintaining of voluntary staffing rosters, and the general question of cleaning and hygiene.
In the mid‑eighties these problems became so acute that a Special General Meeting was called on 9th April 1986 to consider a proposal to appoint a Bar Steward. The debate was heated, and ended on a somewhat confused note although a vote in favour of the proposal was actually carried. Difficulties continued to arise during the ensuing season, however, and another SGM was called on 28th October 1987 when the following motion was proposed and carried.
The Members of this Club affirm that they wish the traditional philosophy of the Club in relation to voluntary work to continue, this being adopted with the full understanding that each member will require to make a personal contribution to the running of the Club insofar as they are able. Given this affirmation, the committee is instructed to operate the Club on the basis of volunteer service wherever practicable, but should there be a shortage or non‑sustainable level of such volunteers, the committee shall engage professional servants as required and recover the costs by whatever means necessary, including a levy”.
There was a large attendance of 56 members at this meeting reflecting the wide interest and after lengthy discussion the motion was carried. Currently, the voluntary staffing arrangement is coping, with the invaluable part‑time support of member Martin Millan behind the Bar serving, receiving stock and cleaning.
The Secretary’s report at the close of the 80’s decade stated that , “the Club had 119 Full Members, 2 Life Members, 10 Afternoon Members, 9 Non‑playing Members, 8 Junior Members and 19 Pre‑Entry Members. The waiting list stood at 187 names and the first application on the list eligible for membership had waited 8½ years. With the current turnover, those who had applied within the last few years could expect to wait 20 years before being offered membership”.
He mentions, also that on Opening Day 1989 the Club presented Jimmy Meldrum, the oldest and longest serving member, with a plaque to mark the occasion of his 50 years membership of Corstorphine Bowling Club.
CLUBHOUSE AND GREEN, 1980-1989
The two major Clubhouse extensions Phase I in 1980 and Phase II in 1983 virtually established the Clubhouse as it stands in the centenary year. Phase I re‑built the bar/lounge area and Phase II extended the frontage for the full width of the green, giving improved accommodation for a Kitchen, Locker Room, Ladies toilets, and Committee Room. During the course of construction it was discovered that the felt covering on the old roof was suspect so it was decided to have it completely renewed. Additionally a security system was fitted in 1984, central heating in 1985 and in 1988, the Gents toilet was re‑equipped and tiled.
Following on from the re‑construction work much of the re‑furbishment was carried out by volunteer members and the names of W. Kidd, P. Clyne, J. Fairbairn, T. Hamilton, H. Blair, D. Ross. J.A. Marshall, J. Henry, G. Tough, D. Denham and G. Lister receive honourable mention in the Minute Books.
The present Clubhouse is compact, comfortable and much improved over earlier years, with just enough room for a pool table, dart‑board and two gaming machines, over and above the essentials. Unfortunately, however, it does not stand comparison with some of the more modern and purpose‑built establishments in the city, due to the limitations on space. Nevertheless, it is adequate for the purposes of bowling and given that the membership at large is not over enthusiastic about the social side, will probably serve Corstorphine well, for many years to come.
The Green was also given a lot of attention during the eighties, the most significant item being the installationn of an automatic watering system in 1982. The possibilities were first explored by Bob Page in 1980 and after a grant application was turned down by the Sports Council if was decided to go for a Do‑It‑Yourself system from Cameron Irrigation Systems.
A Sub‑Committee comprising Bob Page, Bob Pryde and Dave Adam was set up on 3rd August 1981 to oversee installation and by 26 October a squad of volunteers had installed the pipes and heads, plus a water tank obtained from a Church in Prestonpans. Jock Fairbairn installed the pipework, Hugh Blair the electrical supply and controls and Ian Murdoch the pumphouse.
To mark the occasion, a special opening ceremony was arranged for 17th April 1982 and at 2.30pm that day David Bryant, the World’s outstanding bowler formally switched on the system. Four of the Club members, H. Blair, J. Fairbairn, R. Pryde and F. Ross were selected to play in exhibition matches against the great man, and although the results are not mentioned in the minute the whole occasion was recorded for posterity on video tape.
Following the installation of the watering system attention was turned to the edging of the green, the ditches and the banking surrounding it. The expense was again quite considerable but like the watering system deemed to be a necessary and sound investment and the improvements were duly carried out during 1986. Throughout the eighties, much thought, effort and expense has gone into improving the Corstorphine playing surface and apart from the watering system, the edging and the new artificial banking, the green has undergone regular scarifying, tyning, levelling and where necessary, re‑turfing.
Reports on the green over this period are somewhat variable, lacking consistency from year to year, and whilst the season 1988 for example is singled out for a particularly favourable report in the Minutes of 2nd June, the surface during the following year received some adverse comments about “difficult runs and bumps”. Currently, according to the Greenrangers report of 21st September 1989, the problem with the Green is one of differential compaction and having taken professional advice from Mr R. Cunningham, Head Groundsman, Linlithgow Golf Club, hollow tyning would be carried out during the close season.
Whatever else is said about the Corstorphine Clubhouse and Green as Centenary Year approaches, successive committees during the Eighties can not be criticised for the lack of effort and funding in their attempts to improve the Clubs facilities. The membership would seem to be as well provided for as is reasonably possible, given the constraints on space which permit only a smallish clubhouse and a single green.
It is quite apparent from the minute books for the period concerned and from the comments of his fellow committee members that Bob Page was very much the driving force behind these major Club improvements whilst he was in office as Treasurer 1979, Vice President 1980, President 1981, Development Fund Convener 1977 – 81 and Green Ranger 1984 – 90.
Bob’s enthusuiasm and powers of persuasion did much to convince the committees and membership at large that the considerable effort and expenditure required for the various projects was absolutely essential in the longer term interests of the Club.
MATCHES AND COMPETITIONS, 1980-1989
The early eighties seem to have been a particularly low point in Club performance and certainly for the three years 1980, 81 and 82 there is little to report. The League positions are not recorded, perhaps for obvious reasons, and the Club seems to have lost more times than they won in the friendly matches. Our SBA and District representatives also fared badly during these years and only the selection of Ian Stirling for the Hamilton Trophy Team in ‘81 and ‘82 being worthy of note.
Things began to pick up in 1983 however, the Seniors showing the way by winning their NWEBL for the first of four times during the eighties. The Club’s 1st XVI performed better that year, as well, reaching a meritorious 3rd position while the SBA pair of J Fairbairn and J Stirling were District finalists. Further recognition came to Corstorphine when Ian Stirling was selected for Scottish Counties and E & LBA teams and Ron Wilkie played for the NWEBL against the S & W Leagues.
In 1984, the 1st XVI’s league placing slipped to sixth but the 2nd XVI’s managed a runner‑up spot and between them they went on to win the prestigious Sharp Trophy. The 1st XVI skips were Ian Stirling, Peter Bruce, Bob Pryde and Dave Adam whilst the 2nd XVI rinks were skipped by Ron Whitson, Ian Sutherland John Muir and Jack Sinclair.
Two pairs competitions, the Rotary and the Dean Invitation, were won by Eric Sutherland and Hugh Blair in 1984 but perhaps the outstanding performance overall was the achievement of the SBA Senior Four who reached the 2nd round stage at Queens Park, having beaten Craigentinny at Wardie in the District Final. The Corstorphine Four was drawn from J.R. Henry, G. Black, D. Denham, J. Spiers and skip W. Kidd, and in the 1st round at Mount Florida they finished 3 up against the Methilhill B.C. from Fife. In the 2nd round they lost out to the Newgate B.C. from Aberdeen and Kincardine but by all accounts did not let down the busload of supporters who accompanied them.
During the 1984 season, also, Ian Stirling was again selected for the Scottish Counties and Peter Bruce played for the E & LBA against a combined Edinburgh Select.
The remaining years of the eighties, 1985‑89 brought a mixed bag of honours to the Club, although nothing of note by way of SBA or E & LBA competitions, other than a District Finals appearance of R.Page, R.Wilkie and R.Pryde.
In E & LBA competitions the 1st XVI trophy was won in 1985 by rinks under skips, R. Whitson, R. Pryde, I Stirling and P. Bruce while a rink comprising J. Henry, M. Millan, E. Sanderson and R. Wilkie won the Senior Four in 1986.
In 1989 Corstorphine provided the winning committee to gain the E & LBA Miller Trophy.
In the NWEBL, the best placing for the 1st XVI’s was a third in 1989 but the 2nd XVI’s managed to win their league in 1985 following this with a second place in 1987. The Seniors won their league for the third year in succession in 1985 and again in 1989 with second places in each of the intervening years.
Other wins in NWEBL competitions came along fairly regularly from 1985 onwards when, in that year, M. Millan, W. Stewart, J.A. Marshall and E. Sanderson won the Fours. This Fours success was repeated in 1986 by E. Sutherland, G. Lister, E. Haswell and D. Adam.
A NWEBL Triples win was recorded in 1988 by S. Page, E. Haswell and J. Robertson and Singles winners were P. Bruce in 1987 and K. Logan in 1989.
Among other noteworthy performances during the later stages of the Eighties were the winning of the Alexander and the Rotary Pairs in 1985 by Frank Ross and Kenny Logan, the Dean Invitation Pairs by Mike Wilczynski and Hugh Blair in 1988, and the Coltbridge Invitation Singles by Dave Adam again in 1988. Dave Adam was obviously in good form that year because he had the distinction of beating Willie Wood, the well known Scottish Internationalist, in an early round of the local Balgreen Tournament. Unfortunately, Davie was unable to sustain this high level of performance in succeeding rounds which was necessary to go on and win it. He had some consolation the following year, however, when at Blantyre B.C. he was joined by Eric Sanderson and John Eaglesham to win the Triples and by Jock Fairbairn to win the Pairs.
The remaining Club honours came in 1989 by way of the Junior Section when Scott Ferrier (Singles) and Stuart Maxwell and Andrew Frost (Pairs) were Area winners in the SYBA Championship. In both Singles and Pairs the lads progressed to the Quarter Final Stage, a marvellous achievement indeed.
In Club Competitions during the Eighties the honours were probably more evenly spread than in any previous decade, no single bowler dominating events. Most noteworthy was the winning of his fifth Club Championship by Willie Kidd in 1980 and the two successive wins by Ron Wilkie in 1981 and 1982.
1988 was somewhat unique in that the six major events were shared by only three individuals, each acquiring two trophies. Alan Borthwick took the Championship and the Two Bowl, Peter Bruce the Presidents and the Murdoch and Dave Wilson the Vice‑Presidents and the Seniors
Ian Stirling a former Champion amassed three Two Bowl wins in 1980, 85 and 89 as well as the Murdoch in 1980 and the Presidents in 1986.
Alan Craig managed successive wins in the Presidents in 1984 and 1985 and Tom Connolly did likewise in the Murdoch in 1981 nd 1982 adding yet another along with the Championship in 1987 at age 75 .
The Pairs scene was clearly dominated by Jack Sinclair and Jim Robertson with three wins in the Blyth during the years 1985, 86 and 88 although Bob Page and Bob Pryde had successive wins in 1982 and 83.
In the Triples competition Ian Stirling skipped four winning rinks in the years 1980, 83, 87 and 89 whilst in 1988 Bob Page recorded a unique family achievement by winning the trophy along with his two sons Scott and Alan. Pride of place in the Fours went, understandably perhaps, to Bob Pryde who skipped four winning rinks in 1982, 83, 85 and 88.
The Kerr Medal format was changed in 1981 from a fours competition to a point system based on performance at Monday hat nights. The medal is awarded to the player who is a member of a winning rink most times over ten appearances. The first winner was G.J. Welsh and Ian Stirling achieved the distinction of successive wins in the years 1987 and 1988.
The two mixed Club competitions, the Cathy Connett and the Millar Cup (Pairs) have been shared around pretty well, much to the satisfaction of everyone, no doubt.
As a final note on Club Competition during the Eighties it is certainly worth mentioning that Ron Whitson, Club President in 1985 also won the Club Championship that year the first time such a feat had been achieved since the legendary Willie Scouller did so in 1912.
So much for the oft heard comment that later generations are somehow lacking in flair and commitment!!
Click here to return to the top of this page
THE LADIES SECTION
The Ladies Section celebrated its Silver Jubilee in 1986, the first AGM having been held in the Clubhouse during November 1961.
Throughout its history, the Ladies Section has had the normal succession of Vice‑Presidents and Presidents and their names, along with those of Secretaries and Treasurers are listed at seperately. The first Ladies President was A Murdoch, whilst in the Silver Jubilee year it was, appropriately enough, A Stirling one of the Club’s most successful lady bowlers who held office.
As with the main section the Ladies have benefitted from a fair measure of continuity of service from their office bearers. Long serving secretaries have been E. Wilkie 10 years, J. Gifford 5 years and currently, M Millar, 9 years to date. In tandem with the present Secretary, the Treasurer’s job has been done by J Hunter for the past 9 years.
Of the original Ladies Section members, five are still playing, Mary Gowans, Pearl Lawrie, Alice Murdoch, Jessie Ralston and Madie Tupman. Five more founder members, Hilda Pettigrew, Chris Sutherland, Belle Wallace, Babs West and Jean Wood no longer play, but retain a keen interest in the Club’s activities.
Historically, the Ladies have always played an important part in the social side of the Club’s activities, but from the very start the Ladies have had to demonstrate a fair degree of determination in order to gain the wider recognition they enjoy, on the playing side, today.
During the early years, membership was restricted to thirty five and three rinks were allocated on only two afternoons per week. Step by step, the membership ceiling was raised and, currently it stands at fifty. Nowadays, lady members have access to the green on every weekday afternoon and in addition, there is mixed bowling on Saturday hat nights and Sundays.
It was in 1963 that the Ladies Section first obtained badges for Office Bearers, the Presidents badge having been presented by Mary Cassels. It was not until 1968 however, that the ladies were able to sport their club Badges incorporating the words “Ladies Section”.
By 1965 their growing enthusiasm and the overall expansion of the ladies game was becoming more and more apparent and four friendly matches, against Galashiels, Leith, Scone and Brunstane, were arranged. The programme of friendlies has now extended to nine games each season and two of the original fixtures, those against Galashiels and Leith, are still included.
In 1965 also, the first annual friendly against the Mens’ Section was arranged but, sad to say, the Ladies have yet to record a win.
For a small Club, however, the Corstorphine Ladies have had a fair share of bowling honours, as shown in an Appendix.
R. Cassels and M. Hamilton won the Jean Paul Pairs in 1965 and J. Ralston won the Steele Trophy in 1969, appearing again as a beaten finalist in 1972. The Evelyn Walker Fours was won by M. Hamilton, J. Hunter, L. Kidd and M. Millar in 1977.
At District and National level a number of final placings have been achieved over the years, the most notable being those when E. Wilkie in 1978 and A. Stirling in 1983 reached the quarter‑finals of the SWBA Singles. Quarter Final placings were also achieved in the SWBA Pairs in 1981 by J. Ralston and E. Wilkie. The E.W.B.A. Triples were won in 1986 and 1989. In ’86, the winning trio was V.Page, N.Stirling and E.Adam whilst in ’89 the players were again N.Stirling and E.Adam, but this time joined by E.Kidd.
The Ladies Section can also boast two internationalists. Jessie Ralston was awarded Scottish Caps in 1970 and 1971 but had to withdraw from the 1971 games for health reasons. Nan Stirling gained her international caps in 1982, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90 and 91. Both ladies have won Indoor Caps, playing for the Edinburgh Club.
The results of Club competitions are given in an Appendix and somewhat remarkably, they show that there have been only five different winners of the Ladies Section Championship over the thirty years
The first Ladies Champion was Peg Fairley in 1962 then from 1963 until 1975 Jessie Ralston reigned supreme. Her run was stopped by Nan Stirling in 1976 followed by Eva Wilkie in 1977. Jessie won again in 19778 and 79 but from 1980 until 1987 Nan Stirling held the crown until M. Eaglesham stepped in during 1988. Not to be denied for long, however Nan Stirling recorded her ninth championship in 1989.
The other honours, Presidents Cup, Pairs Cup, Two Bowl and Points Day Cup seem to have shared around fairly well, as the records show, indicating a lively degree of competition within the section.
As a footnote to the Ladies Section it is apparent that they are in good heart and like the main section there is a very long waiting list for membership. Younger members are coming in gradually, however, and no doubt they will continue to bring honours to the Ladies Section and to the Corstorphine Club.
Click here to return to the top of this page
THE SENIOR SECTION
The Senior Section was formally established following a meeting of “over 60’s” in the Clubhouse on 12 April 1978. It started with 47 members and the first office bearers were J.M. Waddell, President, J.R. Pettigrew, Secretary and C.M. Ruxton, Treasurer.
Currently, the membership is around 30, made up of full and after‑only members, and this reduction in numbers reflects a significant shift in age distribution towards younger members which has taken place within the Club as a whole, during recent years.
Traditionally, much of the Seniors’ activity centres around ‘bounce’ games and the Friday hat‑game but the Section has also been a major force in the North and West Seniors League since its inception in 1970. In fact, Corstorphine was one of six founder members and first winner of the Allan Shield which is the trophy presented to the League Champions.
The League has thrived over the years and there are now 10 Clubs participating. These are, along with Corstorphine, Blackhall, Carrick Knowe, Coltbridge, Dean, Goldenacre, Maitland, Queensberry, Tanfield, and Trinity. The format is home and away, involving 18 games throughout the season.
Despite the increased competition, Corstorphine have done exceptionally well, particularly since 1981 when Alex Millar took over as Section organiser. During his 9 years at the helm, Corstorphine have won the League Championship 4 times, including three in successive years 1983, 84 and 85. The latest win was in 1989 and during each of the other five years Corstorphine took second place.
An outstanding achievement, indeed, as all the more so when one takes into account the fact that rinks are chosen on the basis of giving all members a game during the season. Thus, not only does every Section member share in the Club’s successes but they also play their part in forging friendships with Seniors in the other Clubs.
Corstorphine’s Alex Millar is a much respected Honorary Secretary/Treasurer for the North and West Seniors League a post he has held since his election in 1982.
Apart from League matches the Seniors have two other regular, friendly fixtures. The first is an annual match at the invitation of the Ladies Section. This is a very popular fixture, not only for the enjoyable company, but also for the delicious home baking provided “Apres Bowls”, by the Ladies.
The second “friendly” is home and away against the Roslin Bowling Club. Roslin made the approach for a game in 1987 and so cordial have relationships developed that the fixtures now include a Ladies Rink, and are a highlight of the Senior season.
Within the Senior Section, there are four annual competitions, as follows;‑
- Championship Singles for the Murdoch Cup
- Handicap Singles for the Watson Trophy
- Senior Pairs for the British Legion Trophy
- Senior Triples for the John White Trophy
The names of all winners are included as an Appendix
Willie Kidd, a five times winner of the Club Championship has also won the Seniors Championship three times, in 1979, ’82 and ’85. Tommy Kerr, twice winner of the Club Championship has also two Seniors titles to his credit, in 1986 and ’87, whilst the years 1988 and’89 carry the name D. Wilson.
Amongst the Pairs and Triples successes the name of Tom Connolly, another Club and Seniors Champion, figures most prominently along with Willie Kidd, Jim Henry and Martin Millan.
The Singles Champion of each Club in the North and West Seniors League plays in a knock‑out tournament for the Lightbody Trophy. This competition was started in 1974 but the actual trophy was not introduced until 1980. Records show that the winner in 1979 was Tom Connolly of Corstorphine, and this has been the Club’s only success to date although Willie Kidd, Tommy Kerr and Davie Wilson were all beaten finalists.
Senior fours also compete at S.B.A. and E. & L.B.A. level and successes were recorded in 1984 when a rink drawn from J. Henry, G. Black, D. Denham, J. Spiers and W. Kidd made it as far as the 2nd Round at Queens Park and also in 1986 when the J. Henry, M. Millan, E. Sanderson, R. Wilkie rink were E. & L.B.A. winners.
These results suggest that the Corstorphine Seniors can give a good account of themselves in their own peer group and there is no reason whey they should not continue to do so.
Click here to return to the top of this page
Life membership was conferred upon four individuals during the second fifty years of the Club’s existence, namely J. Andrews, A. Bell, J.J. Moffat and J. Pettigrew.
Their names join those of G. Amos and W.H. Scouller who were so honoured in 1932 and 1938 respectively.
A commemorative plaque to this effect is displayed in the Clubhouse.
A brief summary of the contribution to the Corstorphine Club and the game of bowls in general by the four latest Life Members is, as follows:‑
Jimmy Andrews joined Corstorphine in 1951 and though not an outstanding performer on the green he was, nevertheless, a devotee of the game itself and wholehearted in his support of, and service to, the Club.
Jimmy, an extremely popular Club member, served on committee from the early Fifties until the early Seventies and, despite a thrombosis attack at work from which he never fully recovered, memory has it that he seldom missed a day or an evening at the Club from opening to closing day, each year.
He was the first Bar Convenor in 1954 and is remembered spending several hours every Sunday morning, over many years, cleaning out the bar.
Jimmy’s health affected his bowling capabilities but he did, however, manage many happy years playing friendly fours against other Clubs, every Saturday afternoon in the company of J.J. Moffatt, J. West and W. Henderson.
Toward the end of the Sixties and into the Seventies he gradually lost the use of his legs but still continued to struggle up to the club, insisting on retaining membership.
On the opening day of the 1974 season Jimmy Andrews was brought to the Club by wheelchair where, with popular aclaim, he accepted offer of Life Membership. Sadly Jimmy died later that year.
When Andrew Bell was made a Life Member in 1970 an article in the Edinburgh Evening News postulated that if there were such a thing as an “Oscar” in bowls then there could be no more worthy a recipient than the aforementioned individual who at that time was entering upon his 40th year as a Club Member.
Andrew was President in 1937 and Secretary from 1950 until 1955, while he gave over 20 years of service on committee.
President of the E. & L.B.A. in 1946 he became a Councillor of the Scottish Association in 1950 a position he held until retiring in 1956 for health reasons. He was also a leading light in Civil Service bowling circles throughout the Thirties years, ultimately gaining recognition at national level by being made an Honorary Member and Honorary Vice‑President.
Andrew Bell was respected as a most efficient administrator who always had something constructive to say in debate.
Few people can have given so much time and service to the game of bowls as did Andrew Bell. His life membership of Corstorphine Bowling Club was well earned and well deserved.
By way of further recognition Andrew Bell received an engraved silver salver from the Club and his record is displayed upon a plaque in the Clubhouse.
Andrew Bell died in 1979.
J.J. Moffat was made a life member in February 1980 in recognition of his outstanding contribution as a Club Official and for his considerable achievements as a bowler.
Johnny Moffat joined the Club in 1948, was President in 1961, and held office as Green Ranger for 17 years. The Club benefited enormously from his guidance in matters concerning the green and its surrounds and during his period of tenure successive Annual Reports recorded the members’ appreciation of the quality of the playing surface. His re‑appointment as Green Ranger received “enthusiastic approval” year after year.
As a player, Johnny was Club Champion five times in 1963, 66, 70, 71 and 74. He won the Presidents trophy in 1950, the Two‑Bowl in 1948, 49, 68 and 74, the Club Pairs in 1950, 58 and 59, the Kerr Medal in 1962, and skipped a winning Walker Four in 1964.
In S.B.A. competitions, J.J. Moffat’s name figured as a member of a winning District Four in 1961 and as a member of the Corstorphine rink which made it as far as the National Semi‑Finals at Queens Park in 1974.
It should also be mentioned that J.J. Moffat was made a Life Member of the Edinburgh Indoor Bowling Club in 1988 where he was highly respected as a founder member and long serving official.
Johnny stopped playing competitively a few years ago and no longer attends the Club because of ill‑health but no doubt his thoughts will be with the Club during our Centenary Year.
Jack Pettigrew joined the Club in 1951 and was made a life member in 1989 for long and meritorious service, with the added distinction of having been President on two separate occasions in 1963 and 1974.
Jack had an unbroken run of 23 years on committee between 1958 and 1981 which included 9 years as Club Secretary, eight of them from 1964 to 1971 and again during 1978. He was a founder member and also Secretary of the Senior Section in 1978.
On the playing side Jack Pettigrew is known as a real enthusiast and even at 82 years of age in the Centenary Year, he retains his competitive edge. Several notable honours have come his way, over the years.
In the Walker Fours he played for two winning rinks, as second in 1970 and as skip in 1971. In 1969 he was a Charity Pairs winner along with Sandy Ralston and in 1977 he was in a winning Davis Triple. As a Senior, he won the Handicap Singles in 1984 and was a member of the winning Seniors Triples as recently as 1990.
Perhaps Jack’s proudest moment on the green, however, came in 1975 when along with John Eaglesham and Ian Stirling, the Corstorphine Triple won the S.B.A. District finals and made it to the National Finals at Queens Park. Unfortunately, they went out at the 1st Round but a memorable achievement nevertheless.
Jack Pettigrew’s daughter and son‑in‑law, Patricia and Michael Wilczynski, are both prominent Club members and keen bowlers. Mike is following in his father‑in‑law’s footsteps as an office bearer and is the present Club Secretary with six years service to date. Patricia will be President of the Ladies Section in Centenary Year.
Click here to return to the top of this page
1990 AND CENTENARY YEAR
CLUB AND CONSTITUTION
Even before the onset of the Nineties the Club’s attention had begun to focus on the 1991 Centenary Year and the tempo of the deliberations in this respect accelerated considerably during 1990, much of the work being shouldered by those office bearers who were on both the main and the Centenary Committees.
Despite this extra burden, the day to day administration of the Club had to go on, as normally as possible, and all the regular monthly meetings had their full quota of matters which, though comparatively minor in themselves, were for all that important to the general well‑being of the club.
Club finances were always to the fore, particularly as a shortfall against budget was foreseen at a time when monies were being set aside for Centenary Year and, also, when it was the committees wish to avoid an increase in annual subscription lest the members felt they were having to pay over‑the‑odds for the Centenary Celebrations.
The profit margins for the bar and the gaming machines (“the Bandits”) were put under close scrutiny and both showed considerable improvement by the year end.
A Lottery Scheme covering a three year period was approved on 11 October 1990 under the Lotteries and Amusements Act and it is perhaps of interest to report that the 1990 Christmas Raffle raised £219 which on this occasion went directly to the Centenary Fund.
On the expenditure side of the balance sheet running costs such as heating, lighting and telephone were watched closely but the financial position was not helped by a VAT increase from 15 to 17.5% in March ’91.
Unavoidable, additional expenditure was incurred, however, to bring the Clubhouse and Green up to scratch for Centenary Year, the really major item being replacement of the Clubhouse windows facing the Green. The seal on the double glazing on several sections had broken causing condensation and, in addition, the frames were showing signs of rotting. A Special General Meeting was held on 19 December 1990 when it was agreed by a majority vote that window replacement should go ahead and be completed before the start of the Centenary season, at an estimated cost of £7000.
At the same S.G.M. two other proposals were carried. One was that the insignia awarded to the Club by the Lord Lyon for Centenary Year be adopted as the official badge, thereafter, replacing the current Sycamore Tree emblem. The actual Matriculation Certificate is displayed in the Clubhouse. The other proposal was an amendment to Rule 8.2 of the constitution which would facilitate and provide an enhanced timescale to allow proper consideration of future constitutional amendments.
Of all the matters that came up for consideration during the 90/91 period the two which gave rise to the most heated debate amongst the membership were:
A proposal to alter the constitution to the effect that any lady, other than only wives of members as specified at present, could be considered for membership of the Ladies Section.
A proposal that use of the TV set which was installed in the Clubhouse during 1989 should be extended to cover the summer season.
The first proposal, regarding the Ladies, was discussed at a Special General Meeting held after the A.G.M. on 7 February 1990. During a lively discussion it was agreed that the present ruling, to admit only wives of members, was highly discriminating, and the anomaly was cited whereby sons, but not daughters of members were admitted to the Club. It was also, stated that at least eight members of the Ladies Section were known to support the proposal.
The counter‑argument was mainly to the effect that the proposed change would destroy the family atmosphere of the Club should the Ladies Section be open to any lady. This view was supported in a letter received before the meeting, from the Ladies Secretary. It was also suggested that such a proposal would best come from the Ladies Section, itself, rather than from the main body. The proposed amendment to the constitution fell by a vote of 23 for and 31 against.
The meeting about the use of the Club’s TV set was held on 10 April 1991
Previously, under A.O.B. at the February 1991 A.G.M. a proposal had been made that use of the TV set be extended into the summer season but this was ruled out of order as advance notice for inclusion on the agenda had not been given. On a show of hands, however, it was agreed that the committee formulate proposals for a general meeting before opening day.
The general meeting attracted 46 members, almost as many as an A.G.M., and it was fairly contentious.
The committee’s suggestion was that the set could be in use at any time other than when there was competitive play on the green involving members of other Clubs, or on any other occasion when common sense indicated that it its use was inappropriate.
Some argued that the set should not be switched on at all as long as there was any play in progress. Others were prepared to draw the line at competitive play of any description, but felt it would be inappropriate to leave the matter to the ‘commonsense’ of those who happened to be in the clubhouse at the time.
The counter‑argument was that sensible viewing of the TV need not infringe upon play on the green and due respect would be given when there were competitions on.
A compromise amendment to remove the words “involving members of other clubs” was defeated by 17 votes to 19, and the committee’s proposal was carried. Nevertheless, feelings were expressed that in all likelihood the last had not been heard of this matter.
In October 1990 it was decided that because of shortcomings in the existing system, a handicap sub‑committee should be set up with a remit to (1) Review current handicaps (2) Set assessments to apply for the next season and (3) Devise a suitable formula for adjusting handicaps in future years.
The results of the sub‑committees deliberations were intimated to the membership during February 1991 and brought into effect for the 91 season.
The main changes were that:‑
1. At the end of each season the current Selection Committee would set handicaps for the following season from their knowledge of the players ability and performance during the season just ended rather than, as at present, hold the exercise over for the newly‑formed committee, a year later.
2. The handicap range to be scratch to +11.
3. New members to play off scratch in their first season.
4. Mandatory reductions of handicaps would apply on an agreed scale in accordance with progress in individual competitions.
5. New members play at +7 in the Club Pairs competition.
The handicap sub committee comprised G. Birnie, President, K. Logan, V/President, D. Adam, J. Stirling and A. Miller and they were commended on the knowledge shown and the hard work which they put into this exercise.
The Club fell heir to two additional trophies during 90/91.
The bowls belonging to John Wallace, the first Secretary were donated to the Club and they were made into a trophy for the annual Secretary/Treasurers match.
A number of old photographs were also received and those of historical interest to the Club were made up into an album for display in the Clubhouse.
A cup presented by Mrs Angela Saunders, in memory of her father, the late Hyland Rigg was accepted by the Senior Section for a new one‑day two‑bowl pairs tournament.
One other long‑standing trophy, the Walker Shield required complete re‑furbishment and the work was done by new member, G. Irving.
At close of play in 1991 the Club membership was as follows:‑
Full Members 120
Life Members 2
Afternoon Members 9
Non‑Playing Members 10
Junior Members 1
Pre‑entry Members 12
Ladies Section 50
There was one other matter which is particularly sad to record in that 1990 saw the passing of an unusually large number of Club Members. During the year last respects were paid to Jimmy Meldrum, President in 1948 who in 1989 celebrated 50 years membership of the Club, Harry Hunter, President in 1972, Crawford Donaldson, Wm Henderson, Andrew Robertson, Hyland Rigg and Jim Robertson.
During 1990 Corstorphine held the Presidency of the N.W. Edinburgh League with John A Marshall and it was generally accepted that the Club had made a success of all the events with which it was involved, including the Finals, held in July of that year.
Finally, in April ’91, long‑serving Secretary Mike Wilczynski announced that due to various pressures he would not be standing for re‑election at the next A.G.M. although for the purposes of continuity, he would accept nomination for committee and, if elected, undertake the duties of Match Secretary.
Mike said that he deemed it a privilege to have served the Club in this way for the past six years, he had enjoyed the experience, and he thanked the three previous Club Secretaries for their guidance. He payed tribute also to the successive Presidents and committee members whom, he said, had been so easy to work with with. He had, in his own words, “tried to be a professional amateur rather than an amateur professional.”
The Club records during Mike’s period of office are adequate testimony to his professionalism and he is undoubtedly yet another of those long‑serving individuals who have given outstanding service to the Corstorphine Club, and to whom a great debt is owed.
As a little footnote, and perhaps some indication of the burden carried by the Club Treasurer in present times, Income and Expenditure for year ending November 1991 were of the order of £27,000. No small amount by any reckoning and Corstorphine has been singularly fortunate in the holders of this office throughout the years.
Incidentally, it is worth comparing the 1991 Insurance Premium of £917 with that of 1941, which was £6:5:9d.
CLUBHOUSE AND GREEN 1990-91
A lot of work went into bringing the clubhouse up to scratch in readiness for the Centenary Celebrations and most of the facilities received attention, one way or another. At an early stage consideration was even given to moving the bar so that the lounge area would be more rectangular and less “corridor like” as it is at present. At first the idea seemed to be a viable proposition but it was eventually rejected because of the structural and electrical problems entailed plus the fact that the look and character of the present layout would be lost and little, gained of any real consequence.
The main work and major cost was replacement of the large windows facing the green. The double‑glazing was leaking on several of the panes, causing condensation and the wooden framework was showing advanced signs of rot.
The cost was around £7,000 and although the finished job was satisfactory the work did not go as smoothly as anticipated.
When they were first fitted, the new windows were found to be bearing the weight of the roof which was clearly unacceptable. Additional roof supports had to be provided and by the time the work was completed, with the altered and cleaned blinds replaced, it was only a few days short of Opening Day.
While all this work was going on there were such minor distractions as a recurring leak in the roof of the entrance corridor and a thwarted break‑in where a fair bit of damage was caused.
By Opening Day on 20 April ’91 the Clubhouse could be fairly described as in “Shipshape and Bristol Fashion” and the house committee were commended for their efforts.
As for the green, there was much concern that it should play well during 1991, particularly, of course, during Centenary Week in July. Certainly, there was cause for concern because during 1990, despite much effort, expense and attention under the guidance of the Green Consultant, the playing surface was far below expectations.
Bob Page, in his Green Ranger’s report at the February’91 AGM explained that the state of the Green was very much the same over the course of last season as perhaps it had been in previous seasons, with problems arising out of the sub‑airing exercises that had been carried out some time ago.
The problem last year was of dry spots and wet spots which produced bumps on the green. By keeping the green watered, the surface improved, but became heavy. If the ground was allowed to dry out, the bumps returned.
The solution was a long term one and Ron Cunningham, the Green Consultant, had loaned the Club a slitting machine to spread the compaction and let water into the soil. The Green has been gone over in this fashion 3 or 4 times and the operation would be repeated as long as weather conditions permitted.
In conclusion, Bob Page said he was confident that the green would improve and asked the members to be tolerant whilst the remedial action was in hand.
Mr Page also confirmed the notification that he had previously given the Committee of his intention to relinquish the post of Green Ranger because of business and domestic pressures. In so doing, he was at pains to express his sincere thanks to those who had helped him so willingly over the years, mentioning John Fairbairn in particular.
Having already been thanked in committee for his long and dedicated service as Green Ranger, these sentiments were repeated formally by the retiring President George Birnie, at the A.G.M.
Alan Craig took over as Green Ranger and in conjunction with the Green Consultant a programme for the year was prepared and submitted to the committee on 5 March ’91.
The green would be top‑dressed in the Spring and this would be followed by applications of fertiliser in June and early August.
Between May and September the green would be scarified once per month and in the Autumn a final winter dressing would be applied.
Mr Cunningham also made the following points:‑
1) During winter, it is important, especially during dry spells that the green be brushed regularly to reduce any moisture which might encourage disease.
2) The watering system misses sections of the green and dry sections must be forked and watered by hand.
3) Scarifying should not be carried out when the green is too dry.
4) Sulphate of iron is the ideal all‑round spraying agent, it hardens the grass and kills moss.
5) The mower blades should be set high at 1/4″ early on, reducing as the soil heats up.
The programme outlined the work which had been on‑going for some time but in the early part of the ’91 season there was little evidence of improvement. Indeed the green came in for a lot of adverse criticism from members and visitors alike and the advent of Centenary week was being viewed with much apprehension.
In the event, by July, helped by some heavy rain followed by heat, the green at long last responded to treatment, and the playing surface for the Centenary matches was beyond reproach much to the relief of everyone.
Finally, it should be mentioned that apart from the playing surface, a lot of work was done to improve the paths and borders around the green. The surrounds were much admired by members and visitors alike throughout the summer.
MATCHES AND COMPETITIONS 1990-91
The two years 1990 and 1991 are tabulated in full as they have been for each of the earlier decades and, also, each year is summarised in the following extracts from the Secretary’s annual report.
In the N.W.E.B.L. the 1st XVI finished up in second place, equalling the Club’s best previous performance, albeit somewhat adrift of the winners, Wardie B.C. The 2nd XVI finished third in their division.
Perhaps the 1990 league programme will be most remembered, however, for the absolutely atrocious weather on the evening of 6th June, when the Club played Northern B.C. Most of the evenings fixture were abandoned but Corstorphine stuck it out for 13 ends, more ends than most.
In S.B.A. competition, the Corstorphine rink of G. Birnie, D. Wilson, D. Adam and R. Pryde (Skip) reached the District Final at Carrick Knowe but having been in command for most of the match against Liberton they lost a six late on and never recovered losing by 2 shots.
In N.W.E.B.L. competitions the Club’s successful run in recent years continued with victory in the Triples with A. Mackay, I. Ferrier and A. Craig (Skip).
As far as the E. & L.B.A. was concerned the only fact of note was that the Club Committee narrowly failed to retain custody of the Millar Trophy. Corstorphine’s total of 14 shots up held good until the Associations last game in the series which Sighthill won by a greater margin.
Our own Invitation Pairs was won by D. Adam and his partner, A. Boyle, their second success in the three years of this tournament.
Six friendly matches were played during the season, three wins and three losses.
In Club competitions the 1990 Championship was won by George Irving in his first season at Corstorphine, having brought with him a wealth of experience from his previous club, Balerno. George, also, captured the Club Pairs, ably supported by I. (Teeko) Meiklejohn.
The Presidents Trophy was won by Jim Robertson as was the Seniors Handicap. he also skipped the winning Walker Four supported by Frank Ross, Gordon Birnie and Jack Sinclair. Sadly, Jim, who had not long since retired, died suddenly during the season. He was a popular, well‑respected bowler and a stalwart of the 1st XVI whose sudden demise came as a great shock to everyone.
Kenny Logan, Vice President, and Championship winner in 1984, had a long overdue win in the Two Bowl competition whilst Ian Stirling, another former Club Champion, was rewarded for his consistent play throughout the season by winning the Murdoch Trophy.
Alan Page became the youngest ever winner of the Vice Presidents prize and the Kerr Medal went to George Birnie.
The Blyth Pairs went to Bobby Pryde partnered by another of the Page family, this time Scott, whilst the Davis Triples went yet again to Ian Stirling along with his son Alan and Frank Ross.
The Millar Cup was wond by Mrs M and Mr J Eaglesham, the Mixed Pairs by Mrs J Hunter and E Sutherland and the Cathy Connet went to Mrs M Bruce, Mrs E Wilson, B. Howe and A Jackson (Skip).
The Senior Section was as active and lively as ever and the three friendlies against the Ladies Section and Rosslyn B.C. (home and away) were well‑supported and enjoyable.
Strangely for them, however, the Seniors had a poor season in the league, failing to maintain their usual first or second placing.
The 1990 Seniors Champion was Eric Sutherland, Jim Robertson won the Handicap Singles and the Senior Triples went to Jack Pettigrew, Jim B Marshall and Ron Wilkie (Skip).
In the Lightbody Singles, Corstorphine again lost out in the final, David Wilson going down narrowly to J. Hurst of Tanfield B.C.
Finally, for 1990, the Club hosted the Scottish Deaf Bowling Association Finals and those participating impressed everyone with their enthusiasm, knowledge of the finer points of the game, and sportsmanship. The Association presented the Club with a plaque to commemorate the occasion.
With the advent of Centenary Year, at long last, there was a special buzz surrounding Club activities. Every match and competition seemed to carry a special significance and every member was keen to make his mark. How, appropriate, therefore, that the Centenary season was one of the most successful in the Clubs recent history.
The outstanding performance was that of the 1st XVI by winning the N.W.E.B.L. for the very first time. All of the nine league matches were won and all but three of them were played away from home. In fact, the title had already been secured after the penultimate game was won at Blackhall, making the last game, at home against old rivals Coltbridge, no more than a formality.
The four rinks were selected as follows:
|Lead||J Wood||E Sutherland||G Welsh||W Stewart|
|Second||R Brown||E Haswell||F Ross||D Wilson|
|Third||K Logan||T Kerr||P Bruce||G Birnie|
|Skip||D Adam||R Whitson||I Stirling||R Pryde|
Scott Page filled in regularly, and more than adequately, as reserve.
The 2nd XVI didn’t do so well, ending up sixth in the league but the Seniors returned to form by recording their 5th League title since the early Eighties.
In SBA competition George Irving, in the Singles, Scott Page and Bobby Pryde in the Pairs and Steven Ritchie in the Junior Singles acquitted themselves well, but failed to get beyond the Semi‑Final stage.
Success continued in the N.W.E.B.L. competitions however, with a win in the fours by Dave Sutherland, Teeko Meiklejohn, Alex Jackson and Ian Murdoch (Skip). In the same competitions the Club had beaten finalists in Alan Borthwick, Singles and Sandy Mackay, Ian Ferrier and Alan Craig, Triples.
As far as Club completions were concerned, Centenary Year undoubtedly belonged to Jock Fairbairn, a very popular winner of the Championship. Not content with that, he added the Blyth Pairs with Dave Adam and the Davis Triples with Peter Clyne and Tommy Kerr.
The Presidents Cup went to Alan Craig, the Two Bowl to Bobby Pryde and the Vice‑Presidents to Jim Hogg who also won the Club Pairs along with Ian Ferrier.
The Murdoch was won by Scott Page, an outstanding performance by one of the younger generation, and no doubt building upon his appearances with the 1st XVI.
The Walker Fours winners were Alan Borthwick, Alex Jackson, George Irving and Peter Bruce (Skip) and Gordon Young won the Kerr Medal.
The Mixed Pairs were won by Norma and Bobby Pryde, the Millar Cup by Evelyn and Alan Borthwick, the Invitation Pairs by Nan Stirling and Alan Whyte and last but not least, the Cathy Connet was won by Joan Mitchell, Hazel McFarlane, Sandy Mackay and Peter Clyne.
One other player deserves a special mention for his performance in the 1991 Club competitions, Bobby Brown. Bobby, playing some of the best bowls of his career contested three of the Singles Finals, the Championship, the Presidents, and the Murdoch but lost out, on the night , on all three occasions. There are no happy losers, but Bobby earned everyones respect for the manner in which he played and in the philoosophical way he accepted his defeats.
An innovation of the 1991 season was the introduction of a members Singles League Competition, comprising eight sections formed initially on the basis of Handicap.
Despite the fact that a number of games remained unplayed, because players had conflicting commitments, the competition was generally regarded as having been successful, and worth continuing.
The prime mover for this new format was Club President Kenny Logan and perhaps it was no more than fitting that he became the first winner of Division 1. The other Divisional winners were:‑
As mentioned earlier, the Seniors won the North and West League for the fifth time, adding to the success of the 1st XVI. Once again, however, the Lightbody Trophy eluded Corstorphine, Eric Sutherland being the fourth Senior representative to lose the Final.
Senior Champion for 1991 was John Wood who prevailed over Alan Borthwick in a final between two former Club Champions.
Jim Hendry, once described as the doyen of Corstorphine bowlers, had another good season, winning the Singles Handicap as well as the Senior Pairs along with John Muir. The Senior Triples went to Hamish Thomson, Jim Marshall and Alan Borthwick.
A new one‑day two‑bowl pairs tournament for the Hyland Rigg Trophy was a successful occasion and the first winners were Gordon Welsh and Dave Dunlop.
The success of the Club in competitions during Centenary Year gave a tremendous fillip to the celebrations and these were added to by the news that Nan Stirling had once again been selected for the Scotland Team Pool for the Home Internationals and the forthcoming World Bowls and Commonwealth Games bringing further honours to Corstorphine.
Click here to return to the top of this page
The Centenary Celebrations were the culmination of some four years of preparation by the Centenary Committee.
Their terms of reference were that the Centenary be properly celebrated, that it should involve and benefit the members, and that it should enhance the reputation of Corstorphine Bowling Club.
In the opinions of Members and Visitors alike, there is not a shadow of doubt that the Committee succeeded in their aims and all that transpired was wholly in keeping with the general philosophy of the Club, over the years, that if a job is worth doing it’s worth doing well.
The Centenary Committee was under the able Chairmanship of Ian Sutherland, assisted by Tom Kerr, Eric Sanderson. Bob Page, Gordon Birnie, Alan Borthwick, Club Treasurer and Mike Wilczynski, Club Secretary. Over the four years of its existence each Club President also contributed to the work of the Centenary Commitee and they were John Marshall, Frank Ross, Bobby Brown and Gordon Birnie.
During Centenary Year itself it was the turn of President Kenny Logan and Vice President George Irving to participate.
Later on, David Wilson, was co‑opted to assist with the Centenary Booklet and the Club History.
The Booklet was imaginatively produced on quality paper, Bob Page and his wife Vicky, doing most of the preparatory work, with Alastair Davis handling the art work and printing.
The new Club Insignia, with accompanying lapel badges, blazer badges and ties, was also designed by Alastair Davis and the new Insignia, also, necessitated a new flag contributed by Eric Sanderson and Ian Sutherland.
The complete programme of Centenary Events was as follows:‑
Sat 20 April 07.30pm Social Evening
Sat 20 July 10.00am‑05.00pm MembersPairs Tournament
Sun 21 July 10.00am‑06.00pm Mixed Triples Competition
Mon 22 July 06.45pm CBC v Invited Clubs (Friendlies)
Tues 23 July 06.45pm CBC v Invited Clubs (NW League)
Wed 24 July 02.00pm Ladies v Invited Clubs
Wed 24 July 06.45pm CBC v Invited Clubs (Assocs)
Thurs 25 July 02.00pm Seniors v Invited Clubs
Thurs 25 July 06.45pm CBC v Ladies Section
Fri 26 July 06.45pm CBC v Invited Clubs (Friendlies)
Sat 27 July 02.00pm Centenary Trophy (Members)
Sat 27 July 07.30pm Centenary Dinner Dance
Sat 21 Sept 07.30pm Social Evening
The various competitions and matches were all well organised by Mike Wilczynski, George Irving and President Kenny Logan and sponsorship was obtained from members Peter Clyne, David Sutherland Jack Sinclair, George Irving, Ian Murdoch and Tommy Kerr as well as Melvins Ltd., Royal Bank of Scotland and the Marshall Food Group Ltd.
For each of the matches against the Invited Clubs a Captain was appointed to do the honours, and those who did duty were Past Presidents, Tom Kerr, Willie Kidd, Alex Millar, Jack Pettigrew, Eric Sanderson, Ian Stirling and from the Ladies, Alison Murdoch.
During the run up to Centenary Week the weather was absolutely atrocious and everyone felt that their worst forebodings were about to be realised. Fortune smiled, however, the weather turned out fine, the green played remarkably well, helped greatly by the earlier rain and the matches were played in the true spirit of bowls. The catering was first class, and the hospitality worked wonders.
The winners of the Club Centenary competitions were:‑
Members Pairs: J. McLinden and A.G. Davis (S)
Invitation Mixed Triples: Mrs J. Ralston, J.A. Marshall, A Nichol(S)
Centenary Rink Trophy: D.S. Sutherland, A.M. MacNiven,A.G. Davis and D. Adam (S)
Tom Kerr donated the Centenary Trophy and the special Centenary Scorecards were provided courtesy of Club Secretary, Mike Wilczynski.
The week ended with a highly successful Dinner Dance at the Royal Scot Hotel attended by 156 Members and Partners, plus invited gusts Mr and Mrs Hugh Brodie (SBA President) and Mr and Mrs Ian McFarlane (North West Edinburgh League President).
In his written comments on the celebrations Ian Sutherland, Centenary Convenor, singled out two individuals for special mention.
Of Alan Borthwick, Club Treasurer, he wrote that members should be made aware of just exactly how much work Alan had done in connection with budgeting for Centenary Year. The Treasurer, he said, could always be relied upon to bring the rest of the Centenary committee back to earth when any fanciful ideas were mooted which might be too costly. As the accounts would eventually show, the Centenary Costs were kept within budget.
The other individual of whom he made special mention was Kenny Logan, Centenary Year President. Kenny he said, conducted himself throughout in a manner befitting his office, and was well‑prepared for every occasion. In addition to the usual chores and responsibilities of the Club Presidency, Kenny had given his full support to the work of the Centenary Committee.
Although it is perhaps outwith the scope of this history it would not be amiss to anticipate that at the next AGM of the Club I. Sutherland, Centenary Convenor for four long years will himself receive formal recognition and the thanks of his fellow members for the undoubted success of the Centenary Celebrations.
This ends the Second Fifty Years history of Corstorphine Bowling Club with the hopes of the present membership that the Club will continue to flourish and provide sporting pleasure for at least another Century, and hopefully, well beyond.
Click here to return to the top of this page
Those who read this history in years to come may be interested in the wider context of world events which made the media headlines in 1991.
The ‘Cold War’ between the Western Democracies and the USSR was coming to an end with the demolition of the Berlin Wall. In fact, the break‑up of the Soviet Union had begun.
The Gulf War, brought about by Iraq’s invasion of Kuwait, had been brought to a conclusion.
The Israeli‑Arab talks were started but with little evidence of any solution in sight.
The Northern Ireland problem seemed equally intractable, and there was increasing unrest in Yugoslavia.
Environmental pollution and the effect on the ozone layer was of growing concern.
The AIDS epidemic was gaining momentum, slowly but surely.
The world economy was in recession and the UK was particularly badly affected with unemployment approaching 3 million.
Economic and Political Union in Europe was taken a stage further at the Maestricht Summit but Britain opted out of moves towards Monetary Union and the Social Chapter.
Drilling was completed on the service link of the Channel Tunnel.
Public support for Scottish Devolution and/or Independence was gaining ground.
Closure of the Ravenscraig strip‑mill was announced, signalling the end of the steel industry in Scotland.
Traffic congestion in Edinburgh was causing increasing concern and nowhere more so than in Corstorphine.
The Empire Theatre is to be made into the city’s new Opera House.
Hibernian F.C. came near to being wound up but were saved and went on to win the League (Skol) Cup.
Hearts topped the Premier Division towards the end of 1991, under new manager Joe Jordan.
The struggle to find new grounds for both teams to meet the conditions of the Taylor Report by 1994, created a lot of controversy.
The Scottish Football team qualified for the European Nations Cup Finals in Sweden.
The Scottish Rugby XV reached the semi‑finals of the World Cup, Australia beat England at Twickenham in the final.
Liz McColgan, the Scottish Athlete was Britains Sportswoman of the Year.
Perhaps the biggest single story of the year, however was the mysterious death at sea of the Publishing tycoon Robert Maxwell followed by the collapse of his media communication empire.
That was the year, that was!
Click here to return to the top of this page
OFFICE BEARERS 1941 – 1991
|1941||R Heatlie||R Thomson||S L Griffiths||R F Mollison|
|1942||A Ferguson||R Thomson||S L Griffiths||R F Mollison|
|1943||J Samuel||R Thomson||S L Griffiths||R F Mollison|
|1944||A M McKenzie||R Thomson||S L Griffiths||R F Mollison|
|1945||J Waddell||R Thomson||S L Griffiths||R F Mollison|
|1946||F Hastings||R Thomson||S L Griffiths||R F Mollison|
|1947||D A Hall||R Thomson||S L Griffiths||R F Mollison|
|1948||J Meldrum||R Thomson||S L Griffiths||R F Mollison|
|1949||J Thomson||R Thomson||S L Griffiths||R F Mollison|
|1950||R McDonald||A Bell||S L Griffiths||R F Mollison|
|1951||G Benham||A Bell||S L Griffiths||R F Mollison|
|1952||K Paxton||A Bell||S L Griffiths||R F Mollison|
|1953||T B Beech||A Bell||S L Griffiths||J J Moffat|
|1954||W H Cook||A Bell||S L Griffiths||D Borthwick|
|1955||J Sim||A Bell||E M Clark||D Borthwick|
|1956||S L Griffiths||A Bell||E M Clark||D Borthwick|
|1957||J R Sutter||R Marshall||E M Clark||D Borthwick|
|1958||G Davis||R Marshall||E M Clark||D Borthwick|
|1959||A Scott||R Marshall||E M Clark||A Scobie|
|1960||A Murdoch||R Marshall||E M Clark||W D Henderson|
|1961||J J Moffat||S D Wilson||E M Clark||W D Henderson|
|1962||R Marshall||S D Wilson||E M Clark||J Livingston|
|1963||J R Pettigrew||S D Wilson||E M Clark||J J Moffat|
|1964||R W Sutherland||J R Pettigrew||E M Clark||J J Moffat|
|1965||J Connet||J R Pettigrew||J Masson||J J Moffat|
|1966||E M Clark||J R Pettigrew||J Masson||J J Moffat|
|1967||N Wood||J R Pettigrew||J Masson||J J Moffat|
|1968||J H Lawrie||J R Pettigrew||J Masson||J J Moffat|
|1969||S D Wilson||J R Pettigrew||J Masson||J J Moffat|
|1970||E B sanderson||J R Pettigrew||J Masson||J J Moffat|
|1971||T H Kerr||J R Pettigrew||J Masson||J J Moffat|
|1972||H A Hunter||R Wilson||W F Nicol||J J Moffat|
|1973||G F Davis||R Wilson||W F Nicol||J J Moffat|
|1974||J R Pettigrew||R Wilson||W F Nicol||J J Moffat|
|1975||M P Drummond||R Wilson||W F Nicol||J J Moffat|
|1976||J Stirling||J McBeath||J Speirs||J J Moffat|
|1977||W E Kidd||J McBeath||J Speirs||J J Moffat|
|1978||D Denholm||J R Pettigrew||J Speirs||J J Moffat|
|1979||A Millar||R M Whitson||R Page||G F Davis|
|1980||I Sutherland||R M Whitson||C F A Gillon||G F Davis|
|1981||R Page||R M Whitson||C F A Gillon||G F Davis|
|1982||R Pryde||R M Whitson||C F A Gillon||G F Davis|
|1983||D Adam||J A Marshall||C F A Gillon||G F Davis|
|1984||E Haswell||J A Marshall||C F A Gillon||R Page|
|1985||R M Whitson||J A Marshall||A Borthwick||R Page|
|1986||D S Ross||M Wilczynski||A Borthwick||R Page|
|1987||J A Marshall||M Wilczynski||A Borthwick||R Page|
|1988||F Ross||M Wilczynski||A Borthwick||R Page|
|1989||R Brown||M Wilczynski||A Borthwick||R Page|
|1990||G Birnie||M Wilczynski||A Borthwick||R Page|
|1991||K Logan||M Wilczynski||A Borthwick||A Craig|
Click here to return to the top of this page
CLUB COMPETITION WINNERS 1941 – 49
|Championship||S L Griffiths||J Tait||J Davidson||F Hastings|
|Presidents||D Petrie||A Bell||J M Waddell||J Thomson|
|J Brown||W Scobie(2)|
|Club Pairs||J Samuel||J Meldrum||J Thomson||J Thomson|
|A Stewart||J Brown||W Scobie(1)||W A Stark|
|J Brown||T Wilkie||S L Griffiths|
|D Petrie||T H Begg||T H Begg|
|Walker Fours||J Harley||A Bowick||W Henderson||J T Samuel|
|A Anderson||A Hossack||J M Waddell||A Bowick|
|W Wight||W Scobie(1)||J Davidson||W Wight|
|D Petrie||W Scobie(2)||J Tait||G Davis|
|Championship||J Davidson||J Davidson||W Scobie(2)||T H Begg||W Scobie(2)|
|Presidents||J S Brockie||R B Johnston||G T Haddow||A Bell||T Leadbetter|
|Two Bowl||R B Johnston||T H Cutcliffe||F Hastings||J J Moffat||J J Moffat|
|Club Pairs||R B Johnston||A Syme||D Scobie||C J Bonsor||J Borthwick|
|J Davidson||J M Waddell||W MacDonald||A B Scott||G Davis|
|Qual Pairs||G T Haddow||J M Waddell||J Brockie||Not Held||Not Held|
|J Young||J Tait||J Brown|
|Walker Fours||W Henderson||D Thonson||W Robertson||J H Telfer||T Smail|
|F Kerr||A Kilgour||A Ferguson||J Brown||J Graham|
|J Davidson||W Scobie(1)||D Borthwick||D S Grubb||J Moffat|
|J Tait||W Scobie(2)||F Hastings||R MacDonald||G Davis|
CLUB COMPETITION WINNERS 1950 – 59
|Championship||J Brown||J Tait||T H Begg||J Sim||W Scobie(2)|
|Presidents||J J Moffat||J Borthwick||A Bell||J Sim||J M West|
|Two Bowl||G T Haddow||R Elvin||D S Grubb||W A Stark||J M West|
|Club Pairs||J J Moffat||T H Kerr||K Hoffman||T Gifford||R E Currie|
|R H Christie||S L Griffiths||S D Wilson||G T Haddow||W Scobie|
|Walker Fours||A Bell||J Graham||A E Mcmath||G H Currie||D Scobie|
|J Borthwick||T B Beach||T H Kerr||A Ferguson||J Borthwick|
|D Borthwick||J Moffat||J Sim||A Anderson||J Tait|
|J M Waddell||G Davis||S D Wilson||J Brown||G Davis|
|J Graham||A E McMath||A P Watt||W H Cooke|
|W Potter||A P Watt||J Thomson||A Scott|
|G T Haddow||J G Anthony||J Buchanan||T H Begg|
|J Brown||G Davis||J Sim||G Davis|
|Championship||D A Hall||W Scobie(2)||A Anderson||T H Kerr||T H Begg|
|Presidents||D A Hall||J Scouller||J Borthwick||WD Henderson||W Potter|
|Vice-Presidents||–||R Burnett||A Murdoch||E M Clark||T Walker|
|Two Bowl||R MacDonald||R Marshall||J Tait||R B Johnston||WD Henderson|
|Club Pairs||R Burnett||R B Johnston||WD Henderson||J J Moffat||W Fairgrieve|
|R MacDonald||T Torrance||A P Watt||D Borthwick||J Moffat|
|Walker Fours||J Graham||R B Johnston||R MacDonald||J Sim||R Marshall|
|T Leadbetter||S L Griffiths||J Sim||J M Buchanan||A Smith|
|J Tait||D Borthwick||J M Buchanan||W Wight||J S Brockie|
|G Davis||A B Scott||W Wight||R macDonald||A Murdoch|
|Kerr Medal||R Burnett||J G Anthony||A Baillie||R Currie||J Livingstone|
|N Wood||T Gardiner||J Andrews||A P Watt||T Gordon|
|J Sim||S L Griffiths||J M Waddell||WD Henderson||WD Henderson|
|WD Henderson||W Scobie(2)||D A Hall||J Scouller||R MacDonald|
CLUB COMPETITION WINNERS 1960 – 69
|Championship||J S Brockie||J Graham||R MacDonald||J J Moffat||A B Ralston|
|Presidents||C M Robertson||A Murdoch||J Connet||J H Lawrie||S Wishart|
|Vice-Presidents||J Fairley||J Walker||W Fairgrieve||J R Tupman||A Robertson|
|Two Bowl||J Tait||WD Henderson||J R Tupman||J R Pettigrew||N Wood|
|Club Pairs||E M Clark||K Cassells||E M Clark||J Connet||E M Clark|
|T H Begg||T H Begg||WD Henderson||R Marshall||J Connett|
|Walker Fours||W Potter||JM Buchanan||T Leadbetter||J Buchanan||J H Lawrie|
|C J Bonsor||J Sim||J West||W Wight||W Fairgrieve|
|R Elvin||W Wight||TH Begg||J Sim||S D Wilson|
|WD Henderson||R MacDonald||T Davis||R MacDonald||J J Moffat|
|Kerr Medal||R Marshall||J L MacGregor||G Currie||R Johnston||L McGregor|
|J H Simpson||W Gowans||J Andrews||R Dingwall||J Andrews|
|A P Watt||G T Haddow||J Meldrum||J Graham||J Meldrum|
|J Sim||J Sim||J J Moffat||G Davis||J M Waddell|
|Championship||WD Henderson||J J Moffat||T H Kerr||J Graham||W E Kidd|
|Presidents||N Wood||J Sim||S Wishart||D Dunlop||A Learmonth|
|Vice-Presidents||J Burgon||J R Abbey||H A Hunter||T Gifford||R T Dingwall|
|Two Bowl||A Scott||M Drummond||J S Brockie||J J Moffat|
|Club Pairs||T Gifford||J Burgon||WH Morrison||J Edmiston||G F Davis|
|J Connet||G F Davis||N Wood||N Wood||C Gillon|
|Walker Fours||J H Simpson||
|J M West||A Millar||S D Wilson|
|J M Waddell||J R Pettigrew||RW Sutherland|
|T H Kerr||A Robertson||J C Connet|
|J S Brockie||
|WD Henderson||S D Wilson||J H Lawrie|
|Kerr Medal||J Brotchie||J M West||R D Berry||J R Abbey||J R Abbey|
|D S Mowat||D S Mowat||D W Denham||R Mowforth||R Gordon|
|C Cassells||WE Hamilton||J C Brotchie||J L Sydie||RW Sutherland|
|J H Lawrie||W F Nicol||J H Lawrie||G Duncan||J H Lawrie|
|R Sutherland||S D Wilson||J D Fairbairn|
|S Wishart||J C M Connet||TC Leadbetter|
|WD Henderson||J H Lawrie||A Learmonth|
CLUB COMPETITION WINNERS 1970 – 74
|Championship||J J Moffat||J J Moffat||W E Kidd||A M Rae||J J Moffat|
|Presidents||W E Hamilton||J H Lawrie||J H Lawrie||R T Wilkie||J Stirling|
|Vice-Presidents||C Gillon||D N Todd||E Haswell||J Edmiston||G Welsh|
|Two Bowl||J H Lawrie||D M Dunlop||J C Connet||D M Dunlop||J Speirs|
|Club Pairs||J M West||J C Brotchie||J Burgon||G F Davis||A Dickson|
|R T Dingwall||D M Dunlop||E Sutherland||E Sutherland||J H Lawrie|
|Triples||S D Wilson||W E Hamilton||D Dunlop||J Watson||C Gillon|
|J C Connet||W F Nicol||J Fairbairn||D M Dunlop||J Fair|
|J H Lawrie||G F Davis||A Learmonth||A Rae||J Stirling|
|Walker Fours||J M West||R T Dingwall||W E Hamilton||J J Moffat||J J Moffat|
|G Boyle||R T Wilkie||N Wood||J Fair||J Fair|
|J N Speirs||G R Duncan||J Stirling||S D Wilson||S D Wilson|
|J Henderson||J R Pettigrew||J H Lawrie||W E Kidd||W E Kidd|
|Kerr Medal||D Denham||D S Mowat||H A Hunter||G Welsh||J Fairbairn|
|J G Masson||E Sutherland||J McRae||R Gordon||G Tough|
|E B Sanderson||D M Dunlop||R Mowforth||J Stirling||R Wilson|
|S Wishart||J H Lawrie||J C Connet||G F Davis||J C Connet|
|Two Bowl Pairs||
|D Todd||E Haswell||
|S Wishart||J Speirs||
|Two Bowl Singles||
|Mrs B West||Mrs A Stirling|
|Mrs C Donaldson||Mrs M Gowans|
|M Drummond||M Drummond|
|W Hamilton||W F Nicol|
CLUB COMPETITION WINNERS 1975 – 1979
|Championship||S D Wilson||W E Kidd||J Stirling||W E Kidd||J Stirling|
|Presidents||S D Wilson||W E Kidd||J Fairbairn||A Robertson||W E Kidd|
|Vice-Presidents||A W Dickson||J R Jarvis||R Page||I Sutherland||R Pryde|
|Two Bowl||J Eaglesham||G F Davis||
|Club Pairs||J Henry||D P Fraser||I Sutherland||J Dunn||R M Watson|
|W Kidd||S D Wilson||J Fairbairn||J Stirling||J Stirling|
|Triples||S D Wilson||J J Moffat||J R Pettigrew||A W Stirling||A W Stirling|
|J J Moffat||S D Wilson||R Wilson||I Phillips||W E Kidd|
|W E Kidd||W E Kidd||P G Bruce||J Stirling||J Stirling|
|Walker Fours||W E Hamilton||W E Hamilton||J J Moffat||E Sutherland||G Welsh|
|N Wood||N Wood||R Page||R Wilson||A Millar|
|J Stirling||J Stirling||J Speirs||T H Kerr||R Page|
|J H Lawrie||J H Lawrie||T Connolly||J Stirling|
|Kerr Medal||W E Hamilton||J Abbey||T Taylor||G M Birnie||R M Whitson|
|A Millar||H A Hunter||G Thomson||A Millar||G Tough|
|G Black||S Wishart||R Page||R Pryde||D Adam|
|J H Lawrie||J Stirling||G F Davis||WDHenderson||P G Bruce|
|Two Bowl Singles||W E Kidd||G Black||W Hamilton||A Robertson||J Stirling|
|Murdoch Trophy||P G Bruce||W E Kidd||P G Bruce||W E Kidd|
|Cathy Connet||Mrs V Croal||Mrs C Wishart||Mrs Drummond||Mrs J Hunter|
|Cup||Mrs B West||Mrs E Wilson||Mrs M Gillon|
|L Jarvis||J H Lawrie||J Fairbairn||G Welsh|
|R Wilson||P G Bruce||P G Bruce||H R Mowforth|
CLUB COMPETITION WINNERS 1980 – 84
|Championship||W E Kidd||R T Wilkie||R T Wilkie||P G Bruce||K Logan|
|Presidents||D Adam||G J Welsh||D M Dunlop||J Wood||A Craig|
|Vice-Presidents||R M Whitson||J B Sinclair||J Wood||H Blair||J B Marshall|
|Two Bowl||J Stirling||J E Eaglesham||D M Dunlop||P G Bruce||D M Dunlop|
|Murdoch||J Stirling||T Connolly||T Connolly||J Wood||R Pryde|
|Club Pairs||A W Dickson||J Henry||G J Welsh||I Davidson||A Borthwick|
|W E Kidd||T Connolly||K J Logan||W E Kidd||R Page|
|Nominated Pairs||T H Kerr||R Gordon||R Page||R Page||E Haswell|
|P Clyne||R M Whitson||R Pryde||R Pryde||D S Ross|
|Triples||A W Stirling||G J Welsh||E Sutherland||A W Stirling||P Clyne|
|(Davis Cup)||W E Kidd||J E Eaglesham||J Muir||W E Kidd||T H Kerr|
|J Stirling||G F Davis||T Connolly||J Stirling||J D Fairbairn|
|Walker Fours||G Tough||A W Stirling||E Haswell||D M Dunlop||E Sutherland|
|D W Denham||J White||R Page||R Page||T H Kerr|
|J E Eaglesham||J Muir||D M Dunlop||J White||R T Wilkie|
|G F Davis||J Stirling||R Pryde||R Pryde||P G Bruce|
|Kerr Medal||G Tough||G Welsh||G M Birnie||R A Paterson||R Pryde|
|D W Denham|
|Cathy Connet||H R Mowforth||V Croall||E Wilkie||
|Cup||E Clyne||P Clyne||J A Marshall||J Hunter||M Gillon|
|M Gillon||A C Mackay||J A Carruth||J A Carruth||A C Mackay|
|I sutherland||R Pryde||W E Kidd||A Craig||J D Fairbairn|
|Millar Cup||A A Stirling||R Sinclair||B Denham||E Wilkie||A Sutherland|
|J Stirling||J Sinclair||D W Denham||R Wilkie||I Sutherland|
|R Page||K J Logan||A W Stirling||F White|
|W Corrigan||W Bell||D Millar||J Stirling|
CLUB COMPETITION WINNERS 1985 – 1989
|Championship||R M Whitson||J Wood||T Connolly||A Borthwick||J Sinclair|
|Presidents||A Craig||J Sinclair||T H Kerr||P G Bruce||W D Stewart|
|Vice-Presidents||E Sutherland||I Ferrier||L Horsburgh||D Wilson||B Henaghan|
|Two Bowl||J Stirling||F Ross||A W Stirling||A Borthwick||J Stirling|
|Murdoch||J B Sinclair||D Adam||T Connolly||P G Bruce||J Muir|
|Club Pairs||H Massie||D Tait||A McDonald||A Davis||A Davis|
|G M Birnie||W Stewart||A B Borthwick||A Craig||H Blair|
|Nominated Pairs||J Sinclair||J Sinclair||J Muir||J Sinclair||T Connolly|
|J Robertson||J Robertson||G J Welsh||J Robertson||R M Whitson|
|Triples||I Ferrier||R Page||F Ross||A Page||F Ross|
|(Davis Cup)||G M Birnie||R Wilkie||A W Stirling||R S Page||A W Stirling|
|I Sutherland||R Pryde||J Stirling||R Page||J Stirling|
|Walker Fours||D M Dunlop||E Sutherland||F W Ross||D M Dunlop||F W Ross|
|R Page||D Ross||T H Mitchell||R Page||G M Birnie|
|J Stirling||E Haswell||I Murdoch||J Stirling||J Sinclair|
|R Pryde||R Whitson||I Sutherland||R Pryde||J Robertson|
|Kerr Medal||R Gordon||E Haswell||J Stirling||J Stirling||T C Hamilton|
|Cathy Connet||E Wilson||M Lange||E Adam||M Bruce|
|Cup||J Robertson||D Jeffrey||K Buchanan||P Wilczynski||M Haswell|
|R Carruth||M Gillon||J Hunter||J Dunn||J Henry|
|G Lister||G J Welsh||I Sutherland||R Pryde||W E Kidd|
|Millar Cup||I Henry||I Whitson||D Blair||E Kidd||M.V.Page|
|J Henry||R Whitson||H Blair||W E Kidd||R Page|
|Mixed Pairs||A A Stirling|
|Invitation Pairs||A Stirling||D Adam||K Cross|
|D Sparks||A Boyle||A C Mackay|
|R Birnie||K Jackson||S M Ferrier||S M Ferrier|
CLUB COMPETITION WINNERS 1990 – 1991
|Championship||G Irving||J Fairbairn|
|Presidents||J Robertson||A Craig|
|Vice-Presidents||A A Page||J Hogg|
|Two Bowl||K Logan||R Pryde|
|Murdoch||J Stirling||R S Page|
|Club Pairs||I Meiklejohn||J Hogg|
|(Skip)||G Irving||I Ferrier|
|Nominated Pairs||R S Page||J Fairbairn|
|(Skip)||R Pryde||D Adam|
|Triples||F Ross||P Clyne|
|(Davis Cup)||A Stirling||T H Kerr|
|(Skip)||J Stirling||J Fairbairn|
|Walker Fours||F Ross||A B Borthwick|
|G M Birnie||A S Jackson|
|J Sinclair||G Irving|
|(Skip)||J Robertson||P G Bruce|
|Kerr Medal||G M Birnie||J G Young|
|Cathy Connet||Mrs M Bruce||Mrs J Mitchell|
|Cup||Mrs E Wilson||Mrs H McFarlane|
|B Howe||A C Mackay|
|(Skip)||A Jackson||P W Clyne|
|Millar Cup||Mrs M Eaglesham||Mrs E Borthwick|
|(Skip)||J Eaglesham||A B Borthwick|
|Mixed Pairs||Mrs J Hunter||Mrs N M Pryde|
|E Sutherland||R Pryde|
|Invitation Pairs||D Adam||A A Stirling|
|(Skip)||A Boyle||A Whyte|
Click here to return to the top of this page
Club Competition Results 1978-91
|Singles||J H Lawrie||W E Kidd||C M Milne||W Gardiner||W E Kidd|
|Pairs||W D Henderson||T Gifford||J Abbey||A W C Dickson||R Benzie|
|S D Wilson||T Connolly||W E Kidd||T Connolly||W E Kidd|
|Singles||J McBeath||T Connolly||W E Kidd||T H Kerr||T H Kerr|
|Pairs||J McBeath||W F Welsh||A Robertson||M Millan||M Millan|
|G Black||T Connolly||J B Marshall||W E Kidd||W E Kidd|
|Triples||J Henry||C Mallinson|
|C M Milne||J Bell|
|J Eaglesham||T Connolly|
|Singles Handicap||J Pettigrew||M Millan||A Orr||J Dunn|
|Singles||D Wilson||D Wilson||E Sutherland||J Wood|
|Pairs||A Millar||I Davidson||Not played due to||J Henry|
|J Henry||J Henry||death of Highland||J Muir|
|Triples||E B Sanderson||J Orr||J Pettigrew||J F Thomson|
|D Wilson||J Henry||J B Marshall||J B Marshall|
|R Wilkie||J A Carruth||R Wilkie||A B Borthwick|
|Singles Handicap||J A Carruth||J A Marshall||J Robertson||J Henry|
|Highland Rigg||G Welsh|
|Cup Skip||D M Dunlop|
Click here to return to the top of this page
OFFICE BEARERS 1941 – 1991
|1962||Mrs A Murdoch||Mrs J Ralston||Mrs P Lawrie|
|1963||Mrs P Cooke||Mrs J Ralston||Mrs P Lawrie|
|1964||Mrs R Cassells||Mrs J Ralston||Mrs C Connet|
|1965||Mrs C Sutherland||Mrs M Tupman||Mrs B West|
|1966||Mrs C Connet||Mrs M Tupman||Mrs B West|
|1967||Mrs J Wilson||Mrs E Wilkie||Mrs B West|
|1968||Mrs J Ralston||Mrs E Wilkie||Mrs I Nicol|
|1969||Mrs J Wood||Mrs E Wilkie||Mrs I Nicol|
|1970||Mrs C LeadbetterMrs H Pettigrew||Mrs E Wilkie||Mrs I Nicol|
|1971||Mrs B West||Mrs E Wilkie||Mrs V Croal|
|1972||Mrs I Nicol||Mrs E Wilkie||Mrs H Pettigrew|
|1973||Mrs V Croal||Mrs E Wilkie||Mrs H Pettigrew|
|1974||Mrs G Berry||Mrs E Wilkie||Mrs E Wilson|
|1975||Mrs J Hunter||Mrs E Wilkie||Mrs E Wilson|
|1976||Mrs B Denham||Mrs E Wilkie||Mrs E Wilson|
|1977||Mrs D Bennett||Mrs |J Gifford||Mrs I Nicol|
|1978||Mrs E Wilkie||Mrs |J Gifford||Mrs J Hunter|
|1979||Mrs M Millar||Mrs |J Gifford||Mrs J Hunter|
|1980||Mrs E Wilson||Mrs |J Gifford||Mrs B Donaldson|
|1981||Mrs I Henry||Mrs |J Gifford||Mrs V Croal|
|1982||Mrs F Tough||Mrs M Millar||Mrs J Hunter|
|1983||Mrs G Berry||Mrs M Millar||Mrs J Hunter|
|1984||Mrs R Hunter||Mrs M Millar||Mrs J Hunter|
|1985||Mrs M Lange||Mrs M Millar||Mrs J Hunter|
|1986||Mrs A Stirling||Mrs M Millar||Mrs J Hunter|
|1987||Mrs V Page||Mrs M Millar||Mrs J Hunter|
|1988||Mrs M Haswell||Mrs M Millar||Mrs J Hunter|
|1989||Mrs I Ross||Mrs M Millar||Mrs J Hunter|
|1990||Mrs M Lange||Mrs M Millar||Mrs J Hunter|
|1991||Mrs P Wilczynski||Mrs||Mrs J Hunter|
Click here to return to the top of this page
CLUB COMPETITION WINNERS
|Championship||P Fairley||J Ralston||J Ralston||J Ralston||J Ralston|
|Pairs Cup||M Gowans||K Kerr||H Pettigrew||M Gillon||H Pettigrew|
|P Lawrie||C Leadbetter||J Ralston||J Ralston||J Ralston|
|Championship||J Ralston||J Ralston||J Ralston||J Ralston||J Ralston|
|President’s Cup||M Hamilton|
|Pairs Cup||H Pettigrew||M Robertson||B Denham||H Pettigrew||M Robertson|
|R Cassels||E Wilkie||J Ralston||E Wilkie||J Ralston|
|Points Day Cup||P Fairley||M Hamilton|
|Championship||J Ralston||J Ralston||J Ralston||J Ralston||A A Stirling|
|President’s Cup||M Hamilton||J Ralston||E Wilkie||M Hamilton||A A Stirling|
|Pairs Cup||M Drever||J Hunter||V Croal||E Ruxton||B Donaldson|
|J Ralston||M Hamilton||E Wilkie||M Millar||M Hamilton|
|Points Day Cup||
|I Nicol||B West||E Wilson|
|Championship||E Wilkie||J Ralston||J Ralston||A A Stirling||A A Stirling|
|President’s Cup||A A Stirling||E Wilkie||J Ralston||E Kidd||B Adam|
|Pairs Cup||A A Stirling||V Croal||M Millar||M Gowans||F Fair|
|F Fair||J Ralston||B West||F Tough||B Denham|
|Points Day Cup||M Hamilton||M Hamilton||B West||H Pettegrew||M Gowans|
CLUB COMPETITION WINNERS
|Championship||A A Stirling||A A Stirling||A A Stirling||A A Stirling||A A Stirling|
|President’s Cup||J Ralston||E Kidd||A A Stirling||A A Stirling||A A Stirling|
|Pairs Cup||M Millar||V Page||G Berry||I Henry||I Henry|
|J Ralston||E Kidd||V Page||J Ralston||E Kidd|
|Two Bowl Singles Cup||A A Stirling||A A Stirling|
|Points Day Cup||E Wilkie||I Henry||B Birnie||M Gillon||I Henry|
|Championship||A A Stirling||M Eaglesham||A A Stirling|
|President’s Cup||A A Stirling||J Hunter||F Fair|
|Pairs Cup||B Jackson||M Bruce||M Thomson|
|B Adam||B Adam||B adam|
|Two Bowl Singles||J Hunter||B Adam||E Kidd|
|Points Day Cup||J Hunter||M Haswell||M Tupman|
Click here to return to the top of this page
|1965||Jean Paul Pairs||R Cassels & M Hamilton||Winners|
|1969||Steele Trophy||J Ralston||Winner|
|1972||Steele Trophy||J Ralston||Runner -up|
|1973||East of Scotland Singles||M Hamilton||Runner-up|
|1977||Evelyn Walker Fours||M. Millar, E, Kidd,J Hunter, M Hamilton||Winners|
|1978||SWBA Singles||E Wilkie||Quarter Finalist|
|1981||SWBA Pairs||J Ralston & E Wilkie||Quarter Finalist|
|1982||EWBA Pairs||J Ralston & E Wilkie||Semi Finalists|
|1983||SWBA Singles||A A Stirling||Quarter Finalist|
|Steele Trophy||A A Stirling||Runner-up|
|EWBA Pairs||A A Stirling & E Kidd||Quarter Finalist|
|1985||SWBA Singles||A A Stirling||District Finalist|
Click here to return to the top of this page
|J Ralston||!970 & 1971|
|A A Stirling||!985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989.|
Click here to return to the top of this page
OUR OLD PHOTOGRAPHS
We hope you enjoy looking at our old photographs. (If you click to enlarge them you will need to use your browser’s back button to get back to our website.)
Click here to return to the top of this page